Ultimate Touring


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sacramento
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"Touching" meetin with Brad Imes...Steve gets Choked up."Touching" meetin with Brad Imes...Steve gets Choked up."Touching" meetin with Brad Imes...Steve gets Choked up.

You may be big and angry and choking me, but I'm so happy to be standing after that "special" time in customs that I'm going to smile bigger than Marie Osmond's!
Okay. It's been a while.
So I'm not the world traveller like some are (Carey Nash - are you listening?)

Today's entry finds us in California (Goin' back to Cali...), Sacramento, to be precise. Although it's early to tell, Sacramenno (as the locals refer to it) feels more like Lethbridge than LA.

We got on the plane. That may seem like small news to some of you, but when you're travelling with a Brown guy that carries a British Passport and no actual proof of Canadian Citizenship, it's an accomplishment. So I'm boarding thinking...okay, so I lost my friend before the trip even started, but at the last moment, like the Phoenix rising, along came Steve. Admittedly, he had the walk of a phoenix rising that had just been on the wrong end of a rectal exam (yes...I know the walk well...seen it once or twice), but he didn't seem too eager to talk about it (I say this because he told me "I don't want to talk about it"). In any case, I'm glad that security is on the job protecting us from dangerous offenders like Steve. Did I mention that he had his hand cream confiscated? (refer back to comment about the wrong end of a rectal...Not sure what my point is here, but...funny walk....missing hand cream....there are too many factors for me to properly do the math). To summarize: Steve made the plane, but wanted to stand for as long as possible. I dunno.

Flight to Denver - unremarkable.

Denver - unremarkable, with the exception of the fact that we ate at Wolfgang Puck's restaurant. Wood-fired pizza. I passed. Been there, done that, done it better Chez Fisher.

Flight from Denver to Sacramento also unremarkable, but I had to sit in a different row from Steve. I kept my emotions in check, but in my mind I was yelling "Steeeeeeeeeeve......" as we parted ways and he sat in row 15 next to the architect and the mom. I sat next to two mortgage saleswomen, who had just survived a conference in Denver, with the help of a bit of Tequila. Ummm....the flight was interesting, but we had a lot of attention from the flight attendant folk who handled questions like "do you take Visa for more beer?" Said question was handled with an abrupt "No....but good question though!" At least these people came through with information about where we might find the fight-folk on a pre-fight night, and we went to eat at a place called "The Park" (hey...don't I live there?).

We ate some good rice bowls, and with a bit of patience were rewarded with a viewing of Brad Imes from Season 2 of The Ultimate Fighter TV show. He was supposed to fight, but injured his knee (LCL and Meniscus) and will likely need some arthroscopic repair prior to re-entering the ring. In any case, we got a sweet picture of Steve getting choked out by the 6'8" giant. His hand, you will note, is as big as Steve's head. Steve sort of didn't get the fact that he was supposed to be suffering in this mighty choke. He's the guy with the huge grin that says "Oh my gosh...I'm being choked out by Brad Imes...I'm really in bunches now!".

We couldn't think of a way to top that move, so we came home. Tomorrow are the fights. More to follow.

XOXO

S and S in Sacrament, U.S. and A.

We Liiiiiiiiiiiike. We hope you liiiiiiiike.

Advertisement



19th November 2006

I'm just saying
It's a good thing you don't come off like Steve's boyfriend in that blog entry.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb