Monterey to San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monterey
April 26th 2010
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sea Lions on side 15 secs
2: Sea Lions diving and moving 38 secs
I got up in the morning, ate a breakfast of cheese and fruit then decided to look for a place to rent kayaks at my friend (also met through LOTRO) Matt's recommendation. Headed down to cannery row and found a place right by the breakwater, Adventures By the Sea, $30 all day deal, I went out for a few hours and pretty much decided I wanted to go as far as I was allowed which was to the big point on Monterey bay - the northern most part of that land area, so probably about a 7 mile trip total, casual. I stopped for a while pretty often and let myself drift back southeast taking pictures of sea lions and relaxing enjoying the scenery. The area was actually called the Sea Otter Preserve something or other - I thought what I was seeing was otters but was actually sea lions, I did see a couple baby otters wrapped in some kelp on the way back in but didn't have any room left in the camera.


After that I checked out a kayak shop for a few then left Monterey, headed north. Looked at a chinese buffet which said they had sushi in Salinas but it was a selection of about 4..with 3 available so I left, headed on up to and through San Jose and ate that evening at Sushi 85 in Mountain View - the first non-buffet all you can eat sushi place I've been to. Just ordered 3 items at a time over and over until I was stuffed. Pretty hefty wait in between orders and the chef used a pretty crazy amount of random sauces which kind of subtracted from the experience, but overall very good, $25 for what normally would have probably cost $150.

I then headed on to San Francisco - I had kind of planned to meet someone but they flaked. Luckily I had picked up every brochure at the Monterey hostel and had one detailing the three in San Francisco, gave them a call and stayed at the City Center one for something like $30. It was a decent experience, I was pretty tired at that point so I basically just slept.



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb