Fighting male Seal elefants


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monterey
December 6th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Limekiln State Park, campground.

06-11-2002.



In that magic moment between sunset and total darkness a bobcat walked right by my campsite last night giving me a curious look before stretching his limps, preparing himself, no doubt, for the nighttime hunt.

Now this is the sort of sight to cherish, the sort of thing I might never see again in this life. I mean where in burning hell and cloudy paradise is a Amsterdam city dweller like me ever gonna see a bobcat again. Can't even remember ever having seen one of his species in a zoo. Only on TV.

I consider it a real prize, a reward from Mother Nature, Lord Buddha and Lady Fortuna - some of the devine powers of this earth I've dedicated my life too - for my hard work on the bike each day.

Seeing this bobcat was a sight that has burned itself on the retina of my eyes for ever, for the rest of my natural life.

The barren desolate landscape from yesterday was today slowly giving way to eucapthus trees, small bushes and oak trees that looked like they were quite a few years my senior.

I saw small sandy beach coves today full with seal elefants, the males busy in ritual fighting over mating rights

Heavy looking fights with lots of noice and seal elefant saliva flying around in huge white drops.

At other coves I saw sea lions basking in the sun.

A lone coyote checking out the side of the road for raod kills, seemed pretty unperturbed when I cycled by.

Good cycle weather today so my mood was well and happy despite two flats today. My first flats since leaving San Diego, now that is ominous.

Nag, nag, I've a suspicion.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.7kb