How it all Began


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

With new friends and old, I should start by saying that I have been craving change for many years. I always only got as far as threats to relocate to Argentina or NYC and ended up moving three times in three years within a 2 mile radius throughout Santa Monica.
Well, I am proud to say that I finally learned to follow through and walk through all the fears to get to the beginning of what I know will be my greatest life changing experience to date.
This dream to take a year to travel the world is now a reality and it began with the decision to break out of my comfortable state of complacency. First, by resigning from a 10 year run at the Jewish Community Foundation, then allowing myself to spend my savings and let go of living for the future.
In the vein of letting go, getting rid of all of my furniture and “stuff” that has dragged me down through the years was a huge step in this process. Although I managed to sell or donate all of my furniture, I still hoarded enough to fill my old closet at my mom's house (thank you mom) and pile another dozen in a friend's art studio (thank you Stu Melvin). It definitely feels great to know I am not bound to my furniture anymore. I did just learn that the gorgeous Teak Indonesian armoire was unnecessarily destroyed after I sold it; long, sad story.
The thought first occurred during a run with my good friend Lanny Sachnowitz; who I credit for helping me evaluate my finances and assuring me that I could afford to pursue this dream. Thank you Lanny for so diligently checking in periodically to make sure I was still on track.
I also want to thank Lew Groner my supervisor and “work husband” of 10 years for making my career at The Foundation a fun, supportive learning environment. I leave you in good hands with Bonnie Samotin Zev.
Once I made the decision to go through with this daunting challenge I surprised myself with a new found joy and lightness. My situation is like a case study for what can happen once you make a conscious choice to get unstuck and how miraculously everything else just falls into place—and almost instantaneously.
For as long as I can remember I have longed to find a companion and lover and a million times over, I’ve heard “it will happen when you least expect it.” Well folks we all know the last thing I was focused on since making the choice to travel, was getting into a relationship. But clearly, it was out of my control. Since mid-February, the same week I had my unfortunate bike crash in Palm Springs, my friendship with Lowell Kay took an unexpected turn, which has resulted in a magical relationship. Shout out to Toastmasters 90210 which is where we met over two years ago. I am grateful to Lowell for not only getting me through one of the most stressful times in my life but still standing by, understanding why I am not postponing this trip and supporting me 100%.
The reward of finally getting out of my apartment was a fun filled farewell party at Xino in Santa Monica Place (that’s a mall Tara not a street) on Sunday night attended by so many of the amazing people in my life. It was great to have a large group of La Grangers and fellow cyclists, along with past co-workers, family and long-time friends. Thank you all for sending me off with such love.
So here I sit at LAX, grateful for what has now been a four hour delay, where I can breathe and start this blog and know that I currently have NO/NADA/ZILCH responsibility but to stay present through this journey and grow into the best friend, sister, daughter, lover I can be.
Here is a glance at my preliminary itinerary, which will definitely change, but if somewhere interesting strikes you as a place you would like to visit, be in touch and come meet me.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb