California Beach Living


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well for my last day in Los Angeles, I decided to catch the local bus down to Santa Monica beach, and get a glimpse at the beach we always hear about.



The bus was an adventure itself; departing from Dowtown Los Angeles, about a 10 minute walk from my hotel, I was able to get the fare ticket for the bargain price of $1.75. Yep thats right, a return trip to Santa Monica for $3.50 - beats the hell out of the $80 cab charge I was quoted!!




I actually really enjoyed catching the bus. It was nice to mix with the locals and talk to people that I probably would have never ran into, and see a different part of town that I am sure the tours would never take you on.




Its about an hour trip each way, so plenty of time to see the sights and enjoy those crazy Los Angeles roads again. Yep 90% of the trip was on those monster 5 lane freeways, so that was a funny time in itself.




The bus drops you right to the promenade, which is about a 5 minute walk from the pier itself. The promenade is an open air shopping distrcit, with amazing trees lining the streets, and as the shops are all open till 9pm or 10pm every day, the lights in the trees would look amazing at night. Grant and Jodie got to see these, but I didnt fancy catching a bus back in darkness so left before it got too dark - Scaredy cat!!




There are heaps of amazing shops along the promenade and its filled with outdoor cafes and restaurants where you can sit and people watch. I think I did this for about an hour - amazing to see all the differnent types of people, and of course all the weird and wonderful clothes they were. So funny!




After pulling myself away from my new favourite store - Abercrombie and Fitch, I wandered down to the beach. As with most of Los Angeles, the homeless people greet you at ever corner, begging for money or whatever else they think you have, but I have become quite used to ignoring their efforts and thanking them politely before moving.




Along the beach boulevard there are heaps of gorgeous up scale restaurants that I am sure a many stars have dined in. The view from the restaurants was gorgeous, and the sunset having dinner would be amazing.




The pier itself has heaps of rides, and attractions; and wait for it - they are all FREE!! Yep, thats right, one of the first places I have been where you dont have to get your wallet out, and be ready for the tip as well. There are a heap of stalls along the pier as well selling everything you could possible imagine so I had a good time just checking them all out.




Overall, the beach was lovely, homeless people everywhere, stars enjoying fine dining nowhere to be seen, but the best part of my day was catching the bus there and back - quite the adventure and all for the bargain price of $5.50.




I am sorry there are no photos of me in this one - was one of those days when just couldnt be bothered to ask people to take a photo for me. Next stop New York so will update you as soon as possible as I am sure this is going to be a great blog!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th June 2007

Bring on the sun !
Another great blog Monique. Was that you on the beach at Santa Monica! Can't wait to see New York. Sending much love xx
26th June 2007

Hi Beautiful...2 sleeps to go! (our time)
Hi Beautiful. Well, I have been checking and checking waiting for your online installment of your adventures. You are so brave to be doing this and i'm guessing you know that but are actually enjoying this new found adventure woman that you never knew existed. 2 sleeps to go......well that is our time, I think it is 3 for you. Just imagine twice the fun and three times or more if you count all the fuss when you come home! By my time difference reconning and your itinerary which is on our fridge... i'm guessing you are spending your last day in New York and preparing to leave for the flight to Washington later today. Can't believe you are so far through the trip already. Have you enjoyed it? Do you think you have caught the travel bug now? It seems everyone who travels catches it and just can't wait to be on another adventure. Just some quick gos to keep you going and in the loop. Mel finished Q Bar on Sunday Night/Monday Morning....Yayyyyyyyyy!!!!!! (I'm so happy..just in case you wondered!) She starts almost immediately at Glenferrie Hotel, Mostly Days sometimes a split shift doing luch and dinner but no late nights. It is still working in a hotel but it has to be better! Kristy and David are well no news on their front to speak of. Richard frantic at work with end of financial year and people wanting to buy cars etc before 30th June. I'm heading in there now. Everyone sends their love. I am so dissapointed, Richard and I fly to Adelaide for a Wedding the morning you arrive back. So wanted to be part of the Welcome Home Committee. Oh Well, my love will be there even if I'm not. Enjoy your days Honey, Stay safe, smile lots, and laugh often. Love you. Sharon

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb