American Booty: When the sun comes up over Santa Monica Boulevard…


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Santa Monica
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got up at the pleasurable time of 3.30am in order to get to Sea(ttle) Tac(oma) (airport) for my 6am flight. I shared a shuttle with a lady who had been to Australia many times - she was a former stewardess and the driver of the shuttle had the voice of radio on him. The lady was very quick to offer her condolences for Steve Irwin (RIP), which I was glad to accept and pass on when I would get back home.

My plane ended up being delayed from 6am to 7.15am - how awful! At least by checking in early, I was able to get through security ok but it leaves a bit of time to kill. I started writing this very journal, and I hope I don’t ever have to mention the name Miss Fidgets ever again on this holiday. Ever.

I was happy that I did decide to keep the holiday going and come to Seattle, although Lottie isn’t too happy as she was under the impression that I had friends here. I have to say that I did meet people in the hostel, such as the guy from Kalgoorlie who has spent the past
Sleepy KazSleepy KazSleepy Kaz

She's still a little shy to make a proper apperance! Maybe she's a little scared of heights?
month going between Vancouver, B.C. and Seattle. There was also Jason, the guy who was occupying the bunk under mine. Together, the three of us all dreaded the guy in bunk #1 who snored so loudly, you wouldn’t know if it really was a truck revving its engine. I hope I never have to encounter this again! Maybe they should put all the snorers together in hostel dorms.

Also, I checked in my sewing kit. Yes, that’s right Readers. I need to sew a tear in my day pack that happened just as I left Portland. I was looking for a few hours yesterday afternoon before I found my sewing kit; complete with needle and thread. It would be great to sew while I’m waiting or while I’m on the plane for three hours, but thanks to the Transportation Security Administration, there’s no chance I’d get to sew.

Most of the passengers that had bookings on this flight have transferred to other flights, as they need to be in LA by a certain time. This means that I get a whole row to myself! However, there is an asshole in the row in front of me who makes
Mt. HoodMt. HoodMt. Hood

Should have gone up that f**ker if i didn't lose my credit card!!!!
life difficult for the cabin crew by deciding he wants to change seats to another seat that doesn’t have a view of the wing. He should also have a seat, strapped under the wing, so that he can have his view. But as we fly into LA, I notice something that will taint my opinion of this city for the next few days and that’s the haze and smog that’s in the air. The captain tells us that its just fog and it should clear naturally, but this was never caused naturally. Unfortunately, LA is paying the price for its inhabitants’ reliance on the car; smog blankets the city as we approach LAX and I wonder if this is the last blue sky I’ll see for a while.

The shuttle service in LA is miserable compared to the friendly, courteous and fast service I got in Seattle only 7 hours ago. We wait an eternity just for a car to show up before he decides to crawl around LAX’s 7 terminals hoping that more passengers will want this service. Mind you, there is another company that offers shuttles but their bus stop was overflowing with people. Now I know why. I might as well have walked to Santa Monica from LAX as a) the shuttle was pathetic and b) the hostel won’t let me check in until 2pm. I resist the urge to sew (no I’m not using my sarcastic charm) and instead read some of the street press. It turns out that Total Science and High Contrast are playing tomorrow night somewhere in Hollywood - if only I knew where. I’m only too concerned about checking in and when I do, I leave my bags unpacked and I crash out.

Summary
Seattle - LA: 954 miles
American Miles: 1811 miles
Total Miles: 9231 miles



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

InglewoodInglewood
Inglewood

The name of one the most dangerous places of LA!!
Bundy DrBundy Dr
Bundy Dr

Just a random picture for my rottweiler at home!


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb