This is it


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just a quickie just so you know I made it this far!..
Big hold ups all the way over...from Philippine airline people saying I won't get into the states w'out an ongoing ticket....call to Grant, insist its ok...finally they let me on...then a 2 hour delay anyway....then to Sydney, then to Manilla...about 8 hours from Sydney....great to be back in hot and sweaty weather...I'll save some stories of Manila til later...extensive security checks, lightning strike that knocked out the power...more delays...then the 13 hour flight to LA....caught up with Grant, pulled into a little roadside bar and had a couple of Fosters.....
Funny thing about airplane temperatures and country of origin...when I flew last year with Austrian Air the temp was quite warm....this time with Phiolippine Air they keep the temp just above freezing!.....anyone flown with Emirates or Greenland Air who can confirm?
anyway...
Grant and Ted's bikes are thru customs, and after Grant practising his newfound mechanical skills on his own had them both on the road...Ted's came thru with my paperwork but mine came only last Friday and is still in cutoms. We had to wait until Ted got in this morning to get him to sign the papers for MY bike!!...hopefully ready tomorrow arvo at the freight depot, then its only a couple of hours to get it ready.
Then we'll spend a couple of days having a fang around here and head off ove the border on Friday.
I'm using Grant's laptop and it is not real easy and I'm buggered so I'll send more soon...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb