(not so) blissfully cold


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
February 18th 2005
Published: February 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HollywoodHollywoodHollywood

Lassie immortalized
I'm back from all my adventures (I'm not so sure about this -20 business that awaited me in Edmonton) but I did promise an entry from the glamerous world of LA/Hollywood. The flight back from Kuala Lumpur/Taipai to Los Angeles was plagued by delays. The most memorable part of that plane ride was being told to exit the plane in Taipai with all my carry on luggage and that my gate was A4. After coming back from the bathroom, I tried to enter the lounge the same way I came despite a curious no entry sign. Well, it turns out that I was breaching U.S. Federal Aviation Security Measurements so I had to go down the hall, have my things passed through security, go up the stairs, back up the hall, and down the stairs to get back to this silly gate. Right. Somehow after going through security in Kuala Lumpur and boarding the plane, someone would manage to get some kind of weapon/offensive material on board in time for arrival in Taiwan.
The few days I had in Los Angeles were entertaining as I wandered about Downtown and Hollywood. There are some characters along Broadway in Downtown LA and they
Need a journey?Need a journey?Need a journey?

Los Angeles City Hall
get more interesting if you walk east of that street. However, this area was also the warehouse/wholesale area so I ventured forth in search of some good deals. Chinatown was a bit disappointing after the hussle and bussle of Chinatown in NY and San Fran but Little Tokyo was a fun jaunt as I was surrounded by well manicured trees and old Japanese ladies about on their daily shopping rounds.
Hollywood was entertaining and I was amused by Lassie's Hollywood Star. The Fredericks of Hollywood Lingerie Museum was worth a glance (it was also free). Most notable were Madonna's cone-like bra and the lingerie set worn in the movie Austin Powers.
As for my cryptic message about Australia and Hong Kong... it has been confirmed. My dad sprung for a ticket for my mom and I to go leaving March 14 for about a month to tour around - as a graduation present.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb