They think it's all over....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well for the last stop on my tour I'm in Los Angeles, home to the rich and famous! I'm staying just off Hollywood Blvd and the Hostel arranged a trip up to Ranyon Canyon. From here you can see most of LA and there is a great view of the Hollywood sign. But if they had told me as well as the $6 I paid that I had to walk up a hill to see it I wouldn't have bothered. But if I'm honest the view was something and it's also a great way too meet people plus it proved I'm not the unfittest person in the world as we actually lost someone on the way.

At night the've got a bbq going and it's all you can eat for $5 :-) Happy days. A few of us have picked up a few beers to go with the food. We head to the bar and before long we managed to get a table of about 15 of us and I'm the only Brit. It's good fun as I get to abuse several nations in one go. In the bar that evening they have a comedy night. Everyone here is trying to get famous so they come and do the show at the hostel for free for the practise. This is better than the abusing the locals because you get to heckel all the way through the show. Some of the comedians aren't bad but most should go home and get a job. They shut the bar around 2am and I find myself walking up and down Hollywood Blvd with an Aussie Girl I've met to see if we know any of the names in the stars and it's fair to say that 95% of them I've never even heard of.

The next day we head over to Santa Monica but on the way we get lost and end up in Beverly hills, there are worst places to get lost in I suppose. We do eventually get there. It's about 20 degrees which I think is warm but the Aussies are complaining it's cold - they don't know what cold is! We walk down to Venice Beach it's not that busy beacuse it's winter time here but the place is still full of Hobo's and weirdo's. In fact LA is home to some of the strangest people I've seen on my travels and thats just the celebs!

For the last night of my trip we decide to take in a Movie at Mann's Chinese Theatre and eat out. The move we choose is the horror film Hostel - I'm glad I watched that at the end of my trip! As for dinner there was only one place we could go - Hooters! It's a family restaurant, Honest!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb