LA Confidential


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
January 25th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hollywood!Hollywood!Hollywood!

Bryan and a friend at the chinese theater.
A little over a week ago I spent a day and a half with my brother Kevin in LA. It was good to spend time with Kevin since we mostly see each other at family gatherings and do not get a lot of time just the two of us.

We took the afternoon to tour Hollywood and the street with all the star’s names in the pavement. It is really the only tourist thing I have done so far, because I have never done any tourist things in LA. Now that it is out of my system I can move on with life. Hollywood is all about non-reality, but I never realized how non-real the non-reality is. I mean, how honored could you be to have your name on a star in front of a tattoo parlor, a tacky wig shop, or an adult movie house.

I did make some cool friends while hanging out on the curb as you can see from the pictures.

Don’t tell Kevin this (keep it confidential), but once again I left LA not knowing how it could appeal to anyone. It is like the unfriendliness of New York with the suburban sprawl of, well, LA. Seems like people are there to chase a dream or because they have no other option. Problem is the ratio of people making the dream and those getting burned by it is way off. California is supposed to be the place where all the fruit comes from, but I had a hard time finding any fresh fruit.

I do have to say that the one thing I do like about Southern California is the mornings. The air is both cool and warm at the same time. The cold night air has not yet been taken over by the warm rays of the sun. Those rays are busy; building the palm trees, stucco covered buildings, and endless miles of concrete with solar heat. They are also going to work on my back and cheek. In the late afternoon of summer it will be time to seek out shade against the oppressive force of those rays, but in the morning their companionship is a celebration.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



26th January 2006

Photo
Bryan, Initially I thought the pic of you in HWood was of you and your SF blind date. Imagine my relief when I read the caption.
26th January 2006

Kevin
Bryan, You brother is cute. You guys look a lot alike. I appreciate hearing from you. It makes you feel a lot less disappeared. -a
26th January 2006

Are you kidding?
LA is great! Here are some things I love about LA: really good dim sum, the Huntington Museum and The Getty Museum, the Tar Pits (really, how could you not like a city where right in the middle of town is a giant natural pit of tar that has eaten prehistoric animals alive?). Oh, I also like the evenings, the hills of LA, hiking the hills of LA in the evenings. You'll just have to go back there Bryan! Glad you got to spend time with your brother.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb