Trek Update 7


Advertisement
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So after our Mexican party we headed to Lake Lurleen where we booked cabins again due to 80% chance of heavy thunderstorms. We got 4 cabins of 6 between the two groups and I shared a room with Silvia and the others were Nic, Susan, Jinny and Kay. After dinner we had a pub quiz in our group and split into teams of 4 making up 15 question rounds each. After such questions as "what two names were on the graffiti at lunch today" and "what is my boyfriend's full name (Susan)" Silvia, Diana, Nic and I happily won some souvenirs that Darcie had picked up in various places. The next day we drove to New Orleans and checked into the French Quarter Suites which was a 14 bed upper half of a town house. Silvia and I shared a double double room with Nic and Susan. Art and Darcie took us on a tour round New Orleans and left us at the Mississipi river where Nic, Susan, Silvia and I wandered off to look around town with the Koreans, who we soon lost! We saw some voodoo shops and many souvenir shops (I unsuccessfully looked forever for some Southern Comfort merchandise since it was created there and is still made there-it was like they wanted to disown it!) When we got back it was the turn of our group and another group to cook and we made a huge party buffet with chicken bites, ribs, veggie bites, pizzas, salad and a huge selection of fresh fruit. We watched the olympic gymnastics for a little while and then most people went out. Everyone was up pretty late the following day and I decided to explore on my own since it takes so long in big groups. I went to the French Market and wandered down Bourbon street again and along the riverside. Most people were already back when I got back and after Nic and I had cooked dinner and a few people had gone out for it everyone decided a night in was in order.

We left New Orleans for Alabama. It was a long drive and I was not impressed by the woman when we arrived at the campsite, "careful of poisonous snakes, a girl stepped in the puddle the other day and got bitten," ok so it wasn't her fault but I couldn't have been more scared! The following day was Tennessee. We arrived early giving me a chance to do laundry and shower etc while most people went to the lake. In the evening we had a barbecue and then went to bed ready for rafting in the morning (after a few games and some learning Korean). Our rafting was booked for 10 and was so much fun! I shared a raft with Nic, Susan, Sal, Kam and Silvia and our guide was the owner of the place. We did level 4 rapids (level 5 being the worst that are safe enough to ride). After rafting we drove to Virginia where Darcie drove to get pizza and we went to the cinema. I saw the Dark Knight with most people, it was amazing, Heath Ledger is so good in it! The following day we went to Foamhenge (pretty cool haha) and then Darcie's parents house for lunch so she could drop some stuff off and pick some stuff up. We also visited the shop she used to work in, a yarn shop. We arrived in Washington DC (or nearby) late afternoon and did an illumination tour of the city in the van, the monuments were really pretty at night 😊. The following day was a free day in Washington and most of us started off at the International Spy Museum, we each assumed an identity and carried it through to the end, apparantly I wouldn't get caught, so that's good! Silvia, Nic, Susan and I then went for lunch and on to the National Archives to see all the history of America's independence. Next was the Sculpture Garden and then the Natural History Museum, where Nic and I both separately managed to lose Silvia and Susan so I went onto the Castle, the Bureau of Engraving and Printing which was cool, I'm worth a lot of money in height (finally being tall's good!) and then the Holocaust Museum. I then went up to the Washington Monument and walked all the way round the White House which was worth it because the view's much better from the back! We all met late afternoon to go for a last night dinner. It was really good food and was sad but at least we had the drive the next day to say final goodbyes. After getting everyone's details Silvia and I went to bed and to pack.

The final day we got up relatively early to drive to New Jersey. We stopped on the way to complete surveys about trek (second time for us) looking over the river towards New York which was cool. After a last group photo we drove to the gateway hotel and unloaded our stuff. Only Nic, Susan and Kat were staying there so they checked in then some people got the bus to New York and Silvia got her taxi to the airport while Sal, Kam and I got a taxi to my hostel which they were staying nearby. We hung around until Sal's friend got home from work and then they went to drop their stuff off. We met up later to go out for a final final dinner at a diner Sal's friend had recommended which was amazing. It was a proper fifties diner with poodle skirts, quiffs and singing waiting staff who danced too. We stayed for about 4 hours haha and then got the subway back uptown and I said goodbye to the final trekkers 😞.

In the morning I went to buy a new bag to fit all my gifts etc in and got the shuttle to the airport for my plane. I got to Chicago in the evening and met my aunt and uncle, was lovely to see them again. I went to pick my baggage up and found my new bag's handle had broken off and the seam was completely ripped. Thank god my stuff inside was inside another bag. After a lot of arguing JetBlue finally realised I wasn't going to go away and gave me a new bag, a better one actually so that was quite good. When we got back we watched the fireworks from their balcony which has an amazing view of the harbour and had some lovely pizza before bed. The next day we were going to see a Chicago cubs baseball game, I'd wanted to see one since I arrived, after my favourite Jamba Juice we got the subway to the game and met one of Mike and Karen's crew members (they have a sailing boat) who was watching the game with us. I really enjoyed it, mainly because I recognised it from English rounders, definitely a good atmosphere. After a little shopping we got the bus to Greektown and met Karen's friend Cherie and her niece for dinner. The food was amazing, think I'm gonna have to try and find another Greek restaurant before I go home! Cherie and her niece were really nice too, a really good night. The following day was pretty much a shopping day and we went to Costco and then to buy some jeans. In the evening we had Thai and I packed all my stuff again, was a little disappointed I couldn't stay longer but I guess when you're travelling it's all about the price of the flights!

Kate xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb