Lassen National Park, Day 1


Advertisement
Published: October 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I’ve wanted to go to Lassen for a few years now. Juniper Lake specifically. My work schedule changed for the upcoming week leaving me a 5 day block of time to play with. Immediately I start to scheme, where can I go? I decide to head for Lassen! Checking out the park conditions on-line, I see the summit trail is closed but it looks like there are tons of options. The ranger gives me her “best of” hikes and says the park is quiet. Sweet! I think I’ll start at Juniper Lake and move over to the Southwest part of the park after a couple days for the Brokeoff Mtn. hike.


It’s Thursday morning and I’m ready to go, as in, no more commitments, but I spent last night at the drag races so I’m not quite together. I hastily toss in the remainder of my goods and hit the road. The drive out of town is perfect! Maybe the best traffic ever! A good sign surely. I think about the next couple of days as I drive and quickly decide to only explore the Southwest portion of the park this time. There is enough to see and it eliminates having to break camp and relocate. Juniper Lake will have to wait a little longer.


It takes 5 long hours for me to get to the park. The entrance fee is $10 for 7 days, not bad. I inquire about gas and ice at the toll booth. The only option in this entire half of the park is about ½ mile up on the right. Perfect. I’m barely within park boundaries and Bang! Manzanita Lake and Lily Lake. Gorgeous! I want to stop and look but I also want to get where I’m going and set up camp. The road is quiet. Suddenly a falcon swoops down low, heading straight for the front of my car! I brake a little and he swerves along my drivers side, clearly in pursuit. Whoa!! A good start indeed!


About 13 miles later I arrive at South Summit Lake Campground. There are 3 loops, C being closest to the water and maybe the most exposed, D in the middle and E is exclusively for tents and further back in the forest. I cruise the campground to choose my spot and it’s no contest. E-5 baby! In the back, only one neighbor with plenty of space in between and surrounded by woods. I circle around once more to make certain of my choice, park the CRV and start unloading. Camp is set up quickly and I organize the items that were haphazardly added as I left this morning. This campground has a bear box, a relatively flat spot for the tent set back in the trees, a fire ring, picnic table and two trees a perfect distance apart for my hammock! I take the time to set up my hammock properly as I know I’ll be using it often while at camp.


Now for wood. I brought a little kindling knowing wood gathering was allowed in the park. Unfortunately, end of season has the campground and surrounding areas picked clean. I take a drive to scout. There are infrequent turn-outs in the park and no shoulder to speak of. Fortunately nearly every turn provides a scenic gasp of beauty and views so expansive, it’s no chore. Eventually I spy a space and grab enough wood for the night and possibly tomorrow.


Back at camp I prep my fire and head out for a hike. I’ve got about two hours before sunset, plenty of time! Initially I intend to walk around the lake which is right next to the campground. Summit Lake South is a classic mountain gem. Tropical green in color and crystal clear, with downed logs along the edges providing shadows and depth. It’s a sweet little lake set at about 6700 ft. As I crest the east side of the lake a trail sign indicates Echo Lake in only 1.7 miles. I think if I hustle I can make it! It was actually 2.1 miles each way from this point, but no matter, I’m going for it. The sun is low and incredibly bright. The sky is very blue and the trail is a powdery white. The surrounding forest and underbrush are a vibrant green, giving the landscape an enhanced feeling.


The trail is steady uphill for the first ¾ mile then it tops out on a small plateau. Almost immediately the trail turns downward. And it keeps going down, and down, and down. I keep thinking, the sun is sinking, I’m tired, and I’m going to have to walk up this hill on my way back. Finally, it’s been a long day, I arrive at Echo Lake. It’s pretty! I take a couple shots, have a peek around and head back up the hill to beat the dark. I make it back with ample time to finish my loop around South Summit Lake and return to camp before sunset.


Back at camp I get the fire going and start prepping my dinner. I simple fare of chicken thighs, squash and onion cooked over the open fire in the grilling basket. The sweet, sweet basket. A campers cooking dream. I also brought a campfire treat for dessert. Core an apple, pour in some honey, place a cinnamon stick inside, sprinkle a little cinnamon in, wrap it in a double layer of tinfoil and put it on the coals for a bit. Apple pie without the crust!


It’s cold now. I light some candles on my table in lieu of the lantern. I prefer the candlelight. Dinner is finished. Uh oh, a little too finished. The chicken skin is just beyond awesome crispy but the inside is perfect. The apple dessert is a complete fail. Oh well. There’s always a square of dark chocolate with peanut butter instead.


Camp gets tidied, a phone call home, briefly as the signal sucks, and I relax by the fire, but only for a bit. I don’t want to use all my wood plus I’m tired and hoping to hike Brokeoff Mtn. in the morning. The campground is empty except for one other camper at the far end of my loop. It’s so quiet and peaceful. I decide to turn in. I’m cozy on my 3.5 inch sleeping pad with plenty to keep me warm. The only sounds I hear are that of my own breathing and the few critters scurrying around outside as I drift off to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb