Mt. Whitney: Top of the Lower 48


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bishop
July 17th 2007
Published: July 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Summit of Mt. WhitneySummit of Mt. WhitneySummit of Mt. Whitney

Eric Leaf, Me, Jesse Goldstein
On July 13th, two co-workers and I ascended the 14, 496ft. Mt. Whitney: the tallest peak in the lower 48 states.

Eric Leaf, Jesse Goddman and I spent the night in the lower Alabama Hills before beginning our trek from the trailhead at 5am; following the 7-mile-long Mountaineers Route we summited at 10 o'clock. The actual Mt. Whitney trail is a 13-mile-long series of switchbacks. We opted for the shorter steeper ascent which ended with a 50m section of 4th class climbing to the top. (4th class= both hands and feet are used to climb but no equipment)

We descended in 3hrs. with enough time to take a shower and change before happy hour at Whiskey Creek in Bishop. The climb was so much fun because we only had to carry little camelbacks instead of our usual 50lb. backbreakers.

Sarah and I also climbed Cathedral Peak in Yosemite National Park over the weekend. It was my first trad. climb and I had a blast. Trad., or traditional climbing, is climbing with a rope and harness, using removable anchor equipment instead of permanent bolts. Sarah and Jeff are teaching me the ropes about climbing and I'm taking notes. My goal by the end of the summer is to lead climb Cathedral.

I hope everyone is having a great summer...hot times are good times.

Let me know what you are all up to, the internet is my link to the outside world. I'll be back in 8 days.

Phil






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb