Big Sur California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Big Sur
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Big Sur Campgrounds, California


Last summer my mom, my little sister, my best friend Ramo and I went on vacation to California. It was the first time any of us had ever been to this amazing state. Before going on this trip, I had this whole big picture of what I thought it was going to be like, but most of the time everything turns out to be the complete opposite of what I think. I pictured California as all ocean and beaches. It turns out that there are woods and mountains and deserts. Nothing I would’ve thought would be there.
We stayed at the Big Sur Campgrounds and I’m telling you, it is absolutely stunning. We set up camp right away. After unloading everything from the car, we walked down to the clear blue river just below the campsite. The cool water became lukewarm from the sun shining down and heating the flowing stream of water. After playing and swimming in the river for a bit, we walked soaking wet back up to the campsite where our tents were set up and started cooking dinner. I love the taste of hamburgers cooked on an open flame. It gives a taste that is one of a kind. After dinner we went to our tents to get ready for bed. The sound of the rumbling river made it easy to fall asleep fast.
The sun rose just as fast as it sank below the mountains. I stepped out of the tent and felt the dry, cool ground against the soles of my feet. The suns rays were barely shining through the openings of leaves in the trees. The mountains were covered in huge brown trees with olive and green colored leaves. The smell of neighboring camper’s breakfasts blew past my nose and reminded me to get started on breakfast. I started the fire with some kindling and broken twigs I found on the ground. I cooked eggs and bacon and hash browns. We all ate and then decided to drive down to the ocean. The view of the ocean was breathtaking. The shimmering blue ocean rumbled against the pearly white sand. The sand on the beach felt amazing on the bottom of my feet. The water was icy cold and tasted like salt. We stayed at the beach until the sun started to sink below the horizon. The view was absolutely gorgeous. The color of the sky was bright orange and dark red and pink. The sun set and we drove back to the campground and got ready for bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb