Disney and Big Sur


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Big Sur
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We're in California now! We went from the Grand Canyon to Anaheim, CA. We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Resort (ha, resort.. not quite. It had no free breakfast, we were charged for internet, pool, and fitness room access. $12 a day!! outrageous!) The room was very nice, however, and it was great to be sleeping in a bed, not a cot.

The next day we got up at 7 AM to get on the 8AM shuttle to DISNEYLAND! I was thrilled. I felt like a little kid again. When we got to Disney, Jim and I had a game plan. We had purchased Ridemax off the internet. This is a program made by an engineer that loved Disney. He figured out the best times to go to each ride. Well, we followed the schedule that Ridemax made for us.. and presto! No LINES! I'm talking 5 minute waits! We went on Space Mountain twice, Slash Mountain, Thunder Mountain.. everything we wanted to go on, without the hassle of waiting in a line. There was one ride that we wanted to go on, Indiana Jones, but it was broken down. Otherwise, we had a great day! Ridemax also had tips for getting around the park. One was a tip for where to watch the parade, Jim and I staked out a spot and boy was it worth it! The parade went right by us, and the spot was perfect because no one was on the other side of the road, so the characters always were looking at us! I was just so happy to be at Disneyland with Jim. There really was no happier place on earth for me, than there at that moment.

After Disney, we were exhausted. We returned back to the "resort" at 6 PM with every intention to go to the fireworks that night, but we didn't make it. We got some good rest and headed to the Big Sur.

The next day Jim spent the first part of the time battling Los Angeles traffic. I didn't see the appeal of living in LA. It was smoggy, dirty, and graffittied. Plus, it took us hours to go just a little way down the freeway! Outside of LA, however, is another story. Route 1 north takes you through a windy tour of the Pacific coast. I put on my sea bands (I get TERRIBLY car sick!) and took in the views. Driving up route 1, the Pacific is on your left, the green-blue water crashing on the rocks and cliffs, and the lush, green mountains are on your right. If you've ever seen pictures of the misty Ireland coast, or watched Brigadoon, it's that picturesque. This must be why people flock to California. Wow!

We arrived at Treebones Resort. This place is wonderful. It's up on a cliff overlooking the Pacific ocean. It has a lodge where you can order a hearty meal for dinner, go swimming, sit near the fireplace or on the deck and enjoy the views. They have yurts to stay in, which are like little round huts. We are in our tent again, which is pretty comfortable. If I ever came again, I'd like to take a yurt. It's a very comfortable place to stay. It's a place where anyone could easily come and relax.

At our campsite at Treebones, we are overlooking the ocean. This morning, I was woken up by the sound of sea lions. Jim and I spent some of last night watching the sun set over the ocean... are you jealous yet? 😊

Today, we were supposed to hike in Big Sur. Unfortunately, we weren't able to because of the fires. We did get to see a beautiful waterfall which was a short walk from Julia Pfeiffer State Park. Then we went to the Pfeiffer Beach for about an hour and a half. We sat in the sun and watched the surfers catch some waves. After the beach, we went to lunch at a delicious place called Nepenthe. It was a feast for the eyes and mouth. It was a 45 minute wait, but Jim and I didn't mind. We sat in the warm sun on pillows, overlooking the ocean. The lunch was fabulous, and again, the views weren't that bad either from our table that was on a porch above the the wide sea.

Tomorrow we head to San Jose and San Fransisco! I can't wait to see Jessica and Dave!! More soon...


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



28th July 2008

See you tomorrow
Can't wait to see you tomorrow!
28th July 2008

When James and I went to California last year one of my favorite days was when we drove and explored the Pacific Coast Highway. You are so right how beautiful it is. Ocean to one side, mountains to the other. It's like being in two different worlds depending on where you look. So nice!
28th July 2008

Strong work in the editorial department Beth!! For real! Thanks for all the details!!! Now that you are in Cali does this mean you made the half way mark?
30th July 2008

Great blog as always!! I am so happy you two are having fun. I am thinking of you daily. Keep us posted. Cann't wait to see you. LOVE mom xxx
4th August 2008

Missed you in Cali
Hi Beth and Jim... Your blog is a wonderful way to releave the everyday tension! I remember when I drove down the coast a few years back. I remember the sights as you have described. I am actually in San Diego with a friend for a family funeral...sorry I missed ya in Cali. Keep up the fantastic blogging! I will be looking for more! Jenn

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb