Finding Tortoises and facing real world


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Barstow
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This week I was once again in Barstow, tracking tortoises. It was an easy week, once again. It just gets done so quickly! Even though a lot of them had actually moved a bit this time, we still were done quickly. On Wednesday morning we got up early so we could look for missing ones for a bit before doing some tracking. Near the end of our search for lost ones, I looked to my left and there was a tortoise shell. Normally, this wouldn't mean anything. We come across quite a few shells and they are never ours. However, this one had a floy tag on it and part of a transmitter! So, it was one of ours. Sadly, it was dead. :-( Also, there are 2 missing in that plot and we aren't sure which one we found, we only know that it is one of ours. Seems a coyote got to it... part of the transmitter had been ripped off and there was nothing left inside the shell. Sad. But at least that means one less tortoise to be looking for. We were done tracking and back at the house by 10am on wednesday. With so much free time, I did some more searching for after this is over. I wrote a cover letter for one position and fine-tuned my resume and sent those in. Also talked to my cousins about maybe visiting them in Colorado... I hope it works out! I like trying to do it all. 😊 Thursday we went out at 8am and were done with all the tracking by noon, back at the house by 1. So like I say, an easy week. With some productivity on my part. I also read a bit, got about halfway through my next Chuck Palahniuk book. 😊

It has been weird the past few days... the semester will be starting at Berg on monday, and normally I would've moved back yesterday and been helping out with green team today. It is so incredibly weird knowing it is going on and I am not there. Ya'll know how much I dislike change. But I am lucky to be having this experience out here so I can't really complain. My life is pretty wonderful. Hopefully I will be able to go and visit Berg at some point. I have a few people there who say I can crash on their couch, so that is nice. Oh and Dr. K told me the date and time for Dr's of Rock (i'll pass that info along to you too mom) so hopefully somehow I'll be able to make it to that too! 😊

Also have some exciting news to share that I learned about via facebook. Go to this site: http://www.motherjones.com/politics/2009/09/give-em-hellraisers.
EnAcT and our Just Tap It! Campaign made it onto this list! How cool is that?! I was excited. Course made me miss all that even more. But I know they are gonna do great stuff again this year. 😊

Thats about all I have to report for now. Jess is coming to visit this weekend which I am super stoked for! She gets here this afternoon and is here til Sunday! So I'll try to tell ya'll about that once the weekend is done!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb