home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Arcata
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On my last morning in Mcleod ganj I went to my favorite restaurant, Oogos, and order some of the very best french toast. As the theme song to our trip "om mani padme hum" (a song we heard in the streets, restaurants, hotels, etc) sung out over the speakers I became quite sentimental. As I paid to leave, the tibetan woman who i saw everyday I came here gave me the sweetest hug goodbye. At thangka painting class I finished transferring my white tara drawing onto canvas. In the evening Jason walked me and my luggage to the bus stop. The boy who was responsible for loading the luggage made all the passengers wait a half an hour before actually doing his job because he wanted to load our bags on the top of the bus. No one wanted to have wet suitcase upon arrival so at last he stepped down his ladder and began charging everyone ten rupees to have their bags stowed in the luggage compartments. I boarded the bus and sat down to a sweet monk who spoke very very little english. We tried to communicate a bit by flipping through his english/tibetan dictionary and pointing at various words but then I settled down to a completely sleepless night ride to the Tibetan settlement in Delhi. Groggily I stepped outside of the bus and was immediately encroached upon by a swarm of taxi drivers. I knew the guest houses weren't far and were within walking distance but all I could see was a dusty dirt road and three large dilapidated apartment buildings. I started out down the dirt road with absolutely no idea where I was. Luckily a young Tibetan boy waved to me and showed me a strange little pathway leading past the decrepit buildings to open into a maze of hotels and shops!! You could never have guessed such a place existed from the street. After a hot day in outskirts of Delhi I shared a lovely evening with a totally eccentric and wonderful korean woman. The next morning I took a taxi to the airport and endured the long flight back to california. I am now home safe with a belly food of fresh vegetables. Much love,
v

Advertisement



20th August 2008

Hey Vida!
Welcome home! I am glad to see you again!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb