BCAP workshop Day 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Little Rock
April 25th 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We had our first day of the two-day workshop, beginning at the crack of dawn. We had to be at the UALR campus at the obscene time of 7:15 for a 7:30 three mile hike. I was a little trepidatious about this part of the "test." I have lost 22 lbs since January, but honestly I haven't ever gotten into an exercise habit. Still, I'm a tough girl. I didn't know that the leader of this thing was going to be a flippin boot camp instructor (literally) and that he was going to lead us on a sprint-paced all uphill death march! Good grief. I know we'll be doing a lot of walking in China, but I don't think we'll have to walk at that pace! Anyway, I made it, & I wasn't last, so it's all good.

After that we did a lot of sitting in desks & listening. We had two guest lecturers. One of them, Dr. Huai from UCA, was fabulous. I do wish we had gotten a chance to get together in groups to discuss some of what we've been studying. We kept kind of trying, but there was no time allotted for that. Everyone is anxious about this test we're supposed to take over Chinese history & culture, but Martha Morton's daughter Mary Laura told us not to worry about it. Here's hoping.

At the end of the day we went to Chai's for a specially prepared Chinese meal. It was good; although I'm not a big fan of Chinese food (too much sweet). Susie & I really enjoyed the wine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb