Getting Ready to Leave


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, here I am, eight hours before I leave Arkansas for 2.5 months. Am I nervous? Yes. Am I excited? Yes. Am I packed? Of course not. My flight leaves from Fort Smith tomorrow morning, and I will spend a few final days with my lovely Italian friends in New York City. It'll be a good relaxer before bouncing on to Israel for the summer. Saying goodbye to Francesca and Matteo will be so hard, but I am happy that this is how we are saying it.

I will be living in Be'er Sheva, Israel working for the Maslan Rape Crisis Center. Basically, this town is in the middle of the desert, so I will quite literally be surrounded by sand and camels and sun. I'm not quite sure where I will be living yet, hopefully in an absorption center meant for new immigrants and volunteer workers, but that is part of the excitement, right? My Israeli friends have vowed to take care of me, so I am not quite as alone as I originally thought. When I get to Israel, I have to set up health insurance, get a cell phone, and sign up for Hebrew classes. Then it's on to the beach for a few days! My tan is going to make yall jealous when I get back...

It is odd to think I am leaving so soon, especially since I have just returned from school. My parents confessed today that they were hesitant about me going which made me slightly upset. I've also been doubting what I am getting myself in to, although I know I'm doing something amazing to benefit myself and a place I love and consider a second home. No sense in staying static when I have to power to be in motion. And, so here I go, off to the unknown. Everyone, say a small prayer for me - every little bit counts. Please be in touch because I do love you all. Finally, have a great summer - I am expected LOTS of stories when I return because you better believe I will have a lot for you.

With all of my love,
Megs

Advertisement



21st May 2006

About that hot dog!
I recognize that kosher dog! Buon viaggio e/et bon voyage! You'll have to teach me the Hebrew equivalent! Ciao, ciao and Godspeed. Love, Tricia
22nd May 2006

Megan!!!
Hey I'm so excited for u it will be so much fun!!!!!!! don't worry I won't chimboke u and we will keep in touch!! You are gonna have so much fun!!! well friends take care love ya and miss ya!!!!
22nd May 2006

Leaving
Was it only yesterday you left FS? Seems like an eternity already. Anyway, Mo-Mo has taken over your bedroom.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb