Tucson, Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
March 2nd 2017
Published: March 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I finally got to Tucson after a 100 mile detour because they had closed Interstate 10 because of a dust storm and no visibility. Had lots of sun and warm weather while I was off exploring. First I took in Old Tucson which was really fun and I spent most of the day there. They have a full schedule of performances and interesting exhibits about the films that were shot here. The performers were very good and it was great to be able to sit and relax with a snack and drink in the Saloon during the shows. There were other restaurants if a person wanted more than snacks for lunch. There was a stage coach giving rides and a train that circled the town. If you are in Tucson be sure to put this on your list of places to go.

I next visited the Eastern Ricon Mountains district of the Saguaro National Park to experience the beauty of the desert landscape. The Saguaro cacti are amazing in this area. The barrel cactus was blooming and that was great to see along with the Chain Fruit Cholla and the Prickly Pear.

My last trip was to see the San Xavier del Bac Mission which is located in the village of Wa:k on the Tohono O'odham reservation. The mission began in 1692 with the church being completed in 1797. The church is still used for mass every week for the local people. The day I was there the local Wa:k had booths set up to sell food so I got to have some delicious fry bread. I also purchased some earrings in the craft mall that is also in the same area.

I went on to Buckeye, Arizona which is west of Phoenix. It was getting very warm already there so I did not do much sightseeing. My grandparents use to live in the area and I spent several weeks with them so had visited most of the attractions then. It was too hot to go to a Mariners game since they were all in the middle of the afternoon. I then headed to California on my way to the Northwest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb