10 days and counting...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
June 17th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Susan and Sara (me)Susan and Sara (me)Susan and Sara (me)

My sister, Susan, and me at the "Bon Voyage" party. You are SO loved!
Progress towards leaving continues but then the list of things to do also continues to grow.


We are still waiting on Bryan’s house to close. The closing date was extended past the 15th of June and the buyers are renting back the house until it closes (maybe Monday, the 19th?). Ever since June 1st, it’s been “just a day or two” away from closing, so I’m not holding my breath.

We are working on getting my home ready to rent. Along with painting the bathroom and one of the bedrooms, we ordered tile for both bathrooms and carpeting for all the bedrooms. I’ve had wood flooring for the rest of the house sitting in the garage for the last year, so Bryan and I thought we might as well get that done while we are at it. Long story short, the whole house will have new flooring by the time we leave and my bank account will be much depleted. The tile guy started Friday, the carpet guy will be here Tuesday, and the wood flooring guys will start on Wednesday. The floors should be done on the 26th (our last day here).

While this is all
Yard ArtYard ArtYard Art

We felt the back yard needed a certain something, and the toilet was available while the tiling was being done...
going on, we will continue to pack and move things into storage. I’m trying to sort as I go, and weed out ten (and in many cases more) years of accumulated “stuff”, but I can see us on the last day dumping drawers into garbage bags and flinging them on top of the storage pile. Nothing like leaving it ‘till the last minute.

Mally, Bryan’s mallinois, was to stay with his sister in Sacramento while we were away, but for some unknown reason, she attacked his sister's dog about a week after her arrival (we’re so sorry, Lorraine!). Of course, she couldn’t remain there, so Bryan made a last minute trip to Sacramento to deliver Mally to the Mallinois Rescue Society leader in California who will place her in a home (most likely where there are no other dogs). Other than her penchant for attacking old, helpless dogs, she is a sweet love and a very good girl, so Bryan (and I) will miss her but trust she will find a good home. Although a three day trip to Sacramento threw a wrench in the schedule, I think it was a good thing because Bryan was able to see
MallyMallyMally

Bryan's mallinois.
his family once more before leaving.

Many of my Wilson friends threw me a Bon Voyage party last night (a special thank you to Sherry, the hostess with the mostest, and to sister, Susan, who helped her plan it). It warmed my heart to have the people I have worked so closely with over the years, and whom I love so much, get together to wish me well. Everyone asked all about the trip and I realized I haven’t been able to really focus on how much fun it’s going to be because I’ve been so stressed out. With everyone suggesting great places to go, and talking about their own travels, I remembered why I’m doing all of this. Thank you!

I will sign off wishing Happy Father's Day to all the father's out there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My Wilson FamilyMy Wilson Family
My Wilson Family

Not just fellow teachers, but GOOD friends that I will miss dearly.


26th June 2006

Sara you look so beautiful and so happy :)
26th June 2006

this time tomorrow
Just think....this time tomorrow all the stress will be flying out the window into the ocean...THE OCEAN....IRELAND!!!! A shot anyone?

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb