The Desert & Hot Hot Arizona!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
June 29th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Again, like Austin, I wasn't originally planning to go to Tucson. I met Casey in Asheville who said I could sleep on her couch in Tucson for a couple of days if I wanted to, and it worked out great as it was a pleasant stop between Texas and Flagstaff. I really enjoyed my few days here, Casey's flat mate Alex and all of her friends were awesome and I got on really well with everyone I met. I actually spent the last night at Alex's friend Colin's house, where we stayed up all night then drove up to a good vantage point and watched the sun rise.

Southern Arizona is very very hot, and it rarely rains (apparently you can count the number of days each year that it rains on your fingers), but it's a dry heat and not too humid like in Florida and the south. Just as I left they were expecting a monsoon, and every single person I talked to about it was really excited. They actually look forward to rain there, it's crazy. Tucson itself is surrounded by mountains and the view from many parts of the city is absolutely stunning.

I spent most of my time in Tucson just lounging about and hanging out with the cool people there, but that's cool because I don't feel pressured at all to "do" things, it's a holiday and I'm happy to just enjoy myself. I think meeting and spending time with people who live there is actually a much better way to experience what places are actually like, as opposed to exploring and going to museums and stuff. Either way I had a great time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb