Day Trip to Tubac


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tubac
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last Saturday, we day tripped from Tucson forty miles south to Tubac; established in 1691 with a mission, followed by a presidio in 1752.

I have an online friend in the Eons’ Barbecue Group who lives in Phoenix. Dave suggested that we meet up in Tubac on a weekend that he and his wife Mare were traveling there to pick up an iron work they had commissioned from the Clay Hands Gallery. He thought Nan and I would enjoy visiting what has become one of the Southwest’s leading art destinations. And he was right.

We weren’t in town more than thirty minutes before we made purchases. Nan selected a nice jacket in which to sport about, and I selected an attractive poncho that marks me as an hombre.

After walking the quaint streets of old town Tubac, we turned into a Mexican restaurant for lunch. One word describes it; sapid.

It was a delight to get to know Dave and Mare nose to nose, and wrangle an invite from them to visit their home in Phoenix for some southwestern fare. Dave, like myself, is a master smoker who uses a Black Diamond Smoker, originally built in New Braunfels, Texas. So, when we depart Tucson on March 16, we are heading north to enjoy a ‘cue dinner hosted by Mare and Dave. Just to be safe, I sent Dave an email with a link to my UTube video for how I cold cook a perfect frozen margarita in the freezer for 24 hours.

After that, we will saddle up and head west out of Arizona on a slow mosey into California, and then north to Washington State. We will have been on the road for four months by the time we get home. But stay tuned; there are still things to come.

Paddy




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th March 2010

Wow!
What a great jacket. The hat looks great with it too. It'll come in handy as you mosey back to the NW. Happy Trails...
10th March 2010

Tubac tour
Well those buildings are super. We will have to go there some day. I wish I could smell the aroma that you two will be making on the Black Diamond but I would just sit back with the ladies...try to keep my questions down and enjoy the margaritas...J

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb