A+B Hill; We Are in the Present State


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tempe
May 9th 2009
Published: May 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is Monday, October 13, 2008 it is 3 a.m. and it is hard to say where we have been.

In stilettos she dodges a baby carriage while heading toward the counter. I am trailing, wildly slinging a sleek tan leather bag over my left shoulder. At 1:15 in a bright western sky I am wide-eyed when I slap my Arizona ID onto the cold formica in plea for two first-class tickets on the 1:30 flight. The disheveled attendant shakes her head. “You know your flight lands at 3:30 and your return is at 4:00? Impossible.”

My hand shimmies to my hip and I turn to walk into the bathroom; unsuccessfully struggling to muster hysterical laughter. In the mirror, my reflection taunts me; the journey bringing us face to face with ourselves. Piercing my thoughts, from outside the doorless passage I hear her in a definite voice; “It is possible we just have to get there to come back,” Again, she is educating someone. This time, it happens to be the helpless employee. I saunter back towards the queue, composing my cool. The woman asks no more, but with furrowed brow, slides two tickets across the counter.

Some journeys can not be put into words I think, and settle into a middle seat, next to two large somewhat American men. ”Please extinguish all smoking materials." I look across the aisle, knowing she is mouthing along with the announcement and I close my eyes…

I wake on the ground at 2:20. We walk, we drink, and time wrinkles. Without tickets, we dance a not-so-subtle slow tango in worn heels down a tarmac again. In another middle seat, I stretch and plant my naked soles into the ground. “On behalf of the crew, we would like to apologize for the delay. Our flight is a short 50 minutes.”

I stifle an uncontrollable giggle and succumb to a familiar sensation again. I look across the aisle to mouth the words, “where are we going?”

“Home” she smirks and arches one eyebrow.
With a directly pointed finger, she assumes a faux seriousness. “And your seat and tray tables should be locked in their full and upright position.” The sun sets on the eastern shore and I close my eyes without the faintest idea where we are going again…




Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb