farewell, Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tempe
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

part of the outlying Phoenix area as seen from on highpart of the outlying Phoenix area as seen from on highpart of the outlying Phoenix area as seen from on high

I stopped in Papago park on a bike ride the other day. It's a decent sized park just north of Tempe where I'm staying. I climbed a little butte there to play my flute to the wind and rocks for a few minutes and got this scenic view. Farewell desert valley, we soon shall part.
Well, I'll soon be on my way out of the desert. I bought a Greyhound ticket to LA and I'll be departing at 5:30 AM tomorrow morning. I will need all of you to cross your fingers and wish me well, as I'm going out on a limb and building cardboard boxes for my bike from boxes aquired at the local liquor store. I'll then have to disassemble the bike and get it into the boxes, meeting greyhound's requirements for size and weight. This process will begin tonight, and must be done by 4 AM or so-- Gabe is leaving for work around 5 and he's my only ride to the station. When I get to LA I should be staying with some friends of friends there for a couple days- I'll keep you posted.

I've had a better-than-expected stay here in Tempe so far. The fellow James who I met at the shop has been very helpful- he gave me some essential knowledge and tools and a camel pak in exchange for the tires I bought that were too big for my bike (and access to my blog, where he can learn from all of my silly mistakes
bicycles for all!bicycles for all!bicycles for all!

These are all the bikes that are currently road-ready at Handlebar Helpers- anyone can come in and buy them or kids can work for them in an afterschool program.
in planning his own two-wheeled journey to strange and distant lands).

I also volunteered at a local community bike shop called Handlebar Helpers. It's run by a charming fellow named Dick Olsen who is now 85 and founded the shop 10 years ago. It's part of a community center which houses an afterschool program; kids can work there after school for bicycle know-how and to earn bikes of their own. I helped a kid take apart an old worn out bright green Schwinn World Traveller, and speaking of synchronicities, found on that bike just the half-moon clamps I was looking for for my brakes; Dick gladly let me take them for my journey. We hung around the shop together for a few minutes after the kids had gone home, discussing the ins-and-outs of the place. I noticed the amount of metal parts being discarded and asked him about recycling. He said he'd tried it but that so far it isn't feasible- he got $2 for a whole truckload. Of course cash return cannot be the central motivator for responsible action, but sorting and loading a truck full of parts and driving them across the city involves a lot of
the shopthe shopthe shop

This is the work area in Handlebar Helpers. It's a real full-service shop with several workbenches and bike stands and air compressor hoses running through the whole place. There are some lucky kids in Scottsdale, AZ.
time and labor that the shop currently can't afford. Always room for improvement, good work to be done everywhere. Wait until oil prices double in a few years- those forged aluminum bike parts will be like gold, since aluminum production is a hog for electricty and recycling it uses only 5% of the energy per weight yield. But I digress. I thanked Dicke for the opportunity to see and work in the shop, and he complimented my bike once again and wished me well on my journey, and I was off into the sunset.

Saturday night I went to a drum circle that happens every weekend in downtown Tempe. I thought I'd never find culture in this homogenized strip mall heat sink of a city, but here it was flourishing in abundant diversity on an open street corner. All ages were represented in the gathering crowd, and a good dozen or so folks, myself among them, were beating on their drums at any given time. There were also a few other instruments present- a didgeridoo, tambourines, and one kid was playing two flutes at the same time! I left after about an hour and a half and it was still going strong. Good clean communal fun.

Well, this is it for now, I've got a lot to do tonight. I wish you all well wherever you may be. Keep on leaving me comments- I love to read them. My computer time is limited, so I try to spend it writing these entries, which I hope you will accept as my gracious replies.

Advertisement



26th May 2007

DRUM CIRCLE
I LOVE THE DIDGERIDOO MUSIC. HEARD IT FIRST TIME IN AN AUSTRAILIAN SHOP IN FLA. VERY SPIRITUAL AND MOVING. LA WILL BE CULTURE SHOCK FROM AZ. AMAZING TRIP. LOVE AND PRAYERS, LES
28th May 2007

in response
Hey, Matt! Just wanted to let you know I've been reading about your journey so far, sounds enjoyable. I can't believe you're skipping Utah! The southern part of the state is wild, big red rocks aside a large coniferous forest, wild cattle... I think you'd like it, but maybe another time. I wish you well- K
30th May 2007

May the force be with you...
Matt, The Dempster family says "hello" and we are thinking about you on your vision quest! The journey that you are experiencing now will continue for a lifetime and awaken your conscious awareness of who you are....let your heart lead the way.
30th May 2007

hello!
Tell the Dempster family I say hello as well. Sorry I didn't get that rotor back to you before I left-- It's at Mom's house in my bedroom closet if you want to get it. I'll let her know. It's good to hear from you two. I want you to know (and everyone else who's left me kind words here) how much I appreciate your words of encouragement. I hope life is beautiful there in Louisville. I miss it already. Peace.
6th June 2007

Goin' on A Spiritual Quest are YA!
Way to go bro, sounds like you'r hangin in there and adapting to you'r different situations when need be. May the Great Spirit be with you on your journeys. Justin

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb