Ketchikan, AK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Ketchikan
September 14th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Misty Fjords at NightMisty Fjords at NightMisty Fjords at Night

Says it all, doesn't it?
Well, bad news. I had a migraine when I woke up that morning and couldn't go into Ketchikan. It's a good thing, too. It was sunny - would have been too much for my eyes - and crowded. Apparently something like 8 large cruise ships docked the same day we did. It was supposed to be the busiest day of the year for Ketchikan...around 10,000 tourists. Yikes! We were only supposed to be there for 4 hours. Too short, if you ask me. Anyway, our departure time was 12 and we left at 2:30 p.m. Which means that we missed most of Misty Fjords. But I did include a picture of the fjords area. Don't you wish you were there??!

Advertisement



1st October 2006

Hours of Daylight
How many hours of daylight did you have or did it depend on where you were at?
3rd October 2006

Sorry Vince, I'm a little slow
OK, I just realized I have to actually ACCEPT the responses. Duh! I haven't been ignoring you, I swear. Let's see, I think if you just call 1-800-mormonboy you'll get to talk all you like and possibly get a hook-up. LOL! The ship held 138 passengers and there were 130 of us on the trip. Plus probably around 25 crew members or so. The boat was only 6 levels. The glaciers are so blue because of the immense pressure the ice went under when they were forming. The added pressure makes the ice crystals flatten out and the result is a strong blue color refraction. I didn't have any caviar, but I would have LOVED to. I really like all kinds. Our daylight hours were from about 6:45 a.m. to around 7:00 p.m. A little less than we get in Atlanta. I didn't notice if we got more the further south we went.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb