Leaving Alaska . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Ketchikan
June 13th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was another cold and wet day in Alaska. But it was also my last day there so I braved the cold and headed out off the ship. I didn’t have any big plans for Ketchikan today, just wandering around.

I headed down to Creek Street and roamed through the shops there. I walked to the far end of the street and discovered a path there called “Married Man’s Trail” - a reference to the fact that Creek Street was the home of Dolly’s and other brothels, so that trail had have been the way the men would sneak down to visit the ladies.

From Creek Street, I wandered down some of the streets of town I hadn’t been down before. Tucked away down one, I discovered a little alley area where a wilderness group had a display set up. Their group rescues sick and injured animals and bring them back to health. They were there to collect donations from the thousands of cruise ship people in town (there were three ships in town today). To add interest to their cause, they had three live birds there that they’d rescued - a bald eagle, a screech owl and a horned owl. That was pretty cool getting to see them so close up.

I picked up the last of the gifts I wanted to bring home with me, then headed to meet some of the girls from the ship.

I wanted one last meal at Annabelle’s, the restaurant we’ve come to adore here in town. I am very eager to get home but I am going to miss the chowder and calamari here!

Then it was time to rush back to the ship for another full day of work.

Time to head home . . . I often get very sentimental when it’s time to sign off a ship. Sometimes I feel torn between wanting to see people at home but not wanting to leave the ports and people onboard. I have had some incredible adventures here on the Spirit. I am so grateful to have been able to travel to the places work has brought me this time around. But it has been a very long contract. I am very worn out. I miss home! I’m eager to get back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb