Eek, my village


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Eek
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Eek is a beautiful little village on the Eek river in the tundra of Western Alaska. The population here is about 280 people with a little less than 90 kids in the school, K-12. The nights are starting to get longer. The sun is rising about 7:30 am and the sun is going down before 10:00 pm, finally. There is nothing worse than starting to teach and the sun is still up at 11:30 and you can't get to sleep. I am keeping very busy with school and I am traveling to Bethel quite often for various meetings.

Can't wait for the snow!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Eek 1Eek 1
Eek 1

My lovely little house with 1200 square feet and two furnished bedrooms. I love it!
Eek 2Eek 2
Eek 2

Eek School. We have a gym that doubles as the cafeteria. There are two high school teachers, one junior high teacher, three elementary teachers, one yup'ik language teacher, and me.
Eek 3Eek 3
Eek 3

Additional teacher housing behind the school. The other teachers live here in this brand new building.
Eek 4Eek 4
Eek 4

The view of the Eek River from the old airport.
Eek 5Eek 5
Eek 5

The sunset view from my living room window.
Eek 6Eek 6
Eek 6

The school grounds.
Eek 7Eek 7
Eek 7

The town dump where the garbage is burned. This is the view from the other teacher housing. I like my view of the sunset better.


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb