Bethel, Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Bethel
August 11th 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bethel 10Bethel 10Bethel 10

View of the cemetery from my walk back to the dormitory.
I arrived in Bethel the morning of Saturday, August 9th. New teacher training was to begin on Monday, August 11th and I wanted to see a little of the sights before starting work. I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast on the Kuskokwim River and spent my day wandering the town. It is a utilitarian town of about 5,000. From the moment I arrived people were nothing but nice to me. It started with the school district sending a driver for me at the airport. I got a brief tour of the town by truck and we stopped by at the Saturday market that is held in the community center. Julie introduced me to a few of her artistic friends and I met the local organic gardener and bought some local produce. I spent Saturday and Sunday wandering the town and taking pictures. There are very few trees here but it is still very green. My first night I was amazed at the sunsetting so late. It has taken me a while to get used to it. Time flies away from you when it doesn't get dark.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bethel 1Bethel 1
Bethel 1

Bed & Breakfast by the river. I stayed in the blue building on the left.
Bethel 2Bethel 2
Bethel 2

Kuskokwim River
Bethel 3Bethel 3
Bethel 3

The Art Gallery
Bethel 4Bethel 4
Bethel 4

Bethel Cemetery
Bethel 5Bethel 5
Bethel 5

College Dormitory
Bethel 6Bethel 6
Bethel 6

Kuskokwim River
Bethel 7Bethel 7
Bethel 7

Kuskokwim River
Bethel 8Bethel 8
Bethel 8

The streets of Bethel
Bethel 9Bethel 9
Bethel 9

Great little Chinese joint. Excellent egg rolls!


21st August 2008

"bed and breakfast"?
Are we talking about the pole barn over on the left in that picture, or what? and do the guests have to go out on the river and catch their own breakfast?

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb