A Happiness Shared


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
June 10th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One doesn't have to travel far to see things that can confound and fill the spirit. I've seen it all today, and it's only 10:15am. I've packed everything in the apartment, including the coffeepot, so what choice did I have but to pop down to Sagaya's for a bagel and coffee on a beautiful, sunny summer morning. Unfortunately, the miles long line of runners/walkers for the "Run for Women" had not been in my radar and was now between me and my coffee. After a 30 minute drive around the start line and over the trail I arrived. The line for coffee was almost as long - but that did not deter me. I mean, it's Kaladi's iced coffee we're talking about.

The confounding part came when I tried to get into my truck to drive down for some sun at Westchester Lagoon. I think I can safely say that in 45 years I have never been stopped from getting in my truck by the sight of a "unique individual" gearing up to take a bike ride with their African grey parrot, who was squawking in protest as it tried to grip the handlebars for what was sure to be a harrowing adventure.



The filling of the spirit came when I settled down at a picnic table near the water of Westchester Lagoon. I forget sometimes that Anchorage is a city, with all the spirit and fun and oddities that has to offer. The park was full of contrasts. The cacophony of the Japanese style drummers who serenaded the run for women participants was exhausting just to watch. And between the scanty shorts, tutus, tiaras, and bras worn on the outside and the fully clad muslim women in hijaabs, and the 15year old boy in full on baby pink bunny ears, complete with pink Nikes, I was filled with the spirit of humanity. People out in the world doing their part to put forth blessings and a spirit of commonality in a world that can often be harmful and scary. It brings to mind the peace in knowing that we are all in this together. "Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared." - Buddha. So, I wish for you a happiness shared.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.1kb