Marry Christmas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
December 25th 2005
Published: December 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Happy Holidays and Marry Christmas to everyone. I made it to Anchorage, Alaska on Saturday morning after two very long days of moving on Thursday and Friday. Without a permanent address, everything stacked in a 100 sq. ft. storage unit and my keys turned in one might think I feel cast adrift and lost. What I have discovered over the last few weeks is that I have a solid community of friends and family that embrace me and hold me solid and steady in my journey.

On Thursday night several people came to visit and check my progress in packing. Upon entering the room each of them said “Oh, my god. When do the movers come?” Therefore coming to terms with what happens when a single man with ADHD tries to pack all his belongings in one night. Being sane themselves, and valuing their sleep, none of them stayed to help pack (I happened to notice).

They and others have helped in important small ways and immeasurable ways. I feel not like a lonely stranger cast off on the road alone, but like a pilgrim set forward by a community. Everyone has been so encouraging and supportive. I want to say thank you to that community.

Bill and Pam loaned their panniers. Bill and Judy their digital camera. Debbie is storing my stuff for Ireland. Alla and Christy gave a cell phone and took my plants. Shirley saved me with packing tape at the key moment, and more importantly inspirational reading. Everyone who came last Monday to send me off with good wishes; and cash (I should quite my job more often.). Bill saved my bacon on moving day by keeping me going and cleaning my fridge of all things. Nancy, your vacuum sucks, thanks. My Dad for flying me to Alaska for two weeks of R&R. Thank you everybody. Thanks you to everyone who took time to say goodbye.

So with that, I hope you have enjoyed your Christmas, had good time with family and friends and get some time to rest this week in preparation for the New Year.


Advertisement



26th December 2005

Happy Travels
Hi Bryan, Thanks for letting us know of your travelblog site. Blogging is all new to me but I have heard of it. Christmas was good. David and Paul arrived safe and sound and we had a great dinner at friends accompanied by Der's sister, Emily. Tim is in Newcastle, England. 2 out of 4 of us are asleep on the 2 couches as I blog, perhaps if there were 4 couches we'd all be asleep, or napping as it is called mid-day. Glad to hear you are going back to Ireland. My father always believed that he was Irish although being born and raised in Scotland, and having a distinct Scottish accent. I have just finished 'Tis by Frank McCourt and intend on reading his new book and also his brother's, Malachy, memoirs. Best read about Ireland, and you'll be a great help reading your blogs, before Der and I venture over there. No set time for that as yet but it is on the list. Have a great R and R, and I'll be tracking you! Love Nora

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb