Where the Ocean, Mountains and Sky Blend into One...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
December 12th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The grey of the ocean meets the base of the Chugach Mountains as they rise into pillars of ice and snow, almost transparent against the dull, white sheet of a sky. From the city their presence are always felt as they tower over buildings and peak into the city through the open streets running from South to North. The sun rises later each morning from the breast of one peak, simply to fall a little earlier each day between the crevices that lie between two others. Even the Alaskans who have spent their lives in the city watch these ever-transforming giants in admiration, like children who stand mesmerized by the constant changing of the clouds.

Here, in Anchorage, I am living in a two bedroom apartment with , Lacey, this awesome hippie chick, and her cat, Lucky. Our apartment has minimal furniture and decorations, which suits our needs quite nicely. We have Christmas lights hung above our windows and the aroma of constantly burning incense. It is only a 20 minute walk from the Coastal Trail which is in its self a small refuge on the outskirts of the city, at least for me when I want to clear my
Sun GlazedSun GlazedSun Glazed

Sun Lighting the Bark of Tree
mind and appreciate the simplicity that nature can offer.

As far as I can remember, I have never had a white Christmas, and my hopes are pretty high for this year. It has been 11 days since my arrival and today was the first snow I have seen fall here. It is quite unusual, in fact, because the ground is typically covered with 3 inches of ice by this time of the year, but hell, what can we say except “Thanks Global Warming!”


To get around the city I have been taking advantage of the “People Mover,” Anchorage’s bus system. The down fall is that I have to wait in the freezing cold for about 10 minutes before it comes, but the upside is that they are heated quite nicely. On top of that, our organization is sponsored by the University of Alaska, so all I have to do is show my “faculty” UA ID and I can ride for free. I did the math and this will save me over $600 throughout the course of my year here.

One night, I came home to find a moose chillin’ on my lawn. He was pretty large
Moose TrackMoose TrackMoose Track

There out there...somewhere
and had a small rack on his head, but I let him pass before I made my way to the door (of course it was already dark and I didn’t get that good of a look at him). Moose here can be really aggressive if they feel threatened so people generally try to avoid them. However, the moose don’t make it easy. They walk into town freely, jump in front of moving vehicles, and get their antlers caught in the Christmas lights of downtown bars. The only thing they have going for them is their enormous bodies. They are not too brilliant (if you haven’t figured out already).

This past weekend Hendrick, Nelly the pooch, and I went hiking in Chugach State Park. Under the withering canopy of the trees, there was little ice on the ground and almost no snow. The first trail we took was into the mountains. We trudged through fallen trees and muddy slopes and found a river scattered with melting icicle formations at the end. We then went up a trail that had a clear view of the coast. Out on a large rock that overlooked the ocean and mountain range, the wind was brittle and harsh, but a lively part of the experience.

As for my job, I am working as the Energy Project Coordinator for the Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference through the AmeriCorps VISTA Program. My responsibilities include serving as the organizer for the Energy Task Force, which is a committee working to find resources for rural communities where energy costs are extremely high (one gallon of gas is up to $6 in some of these small communities). I also work on research for alternative methods of providing energy to communities and organize workshops on how to lower energy costs as well as sessions to provide utility managers on how to apply for grants. A lot of my job deals with alternative forms of energy such as wind, hydro, and geothermal. There are some solar projects, but in most cases the long, dark winters stand as a road block for utilizing such resources. One interesting project I have come across is converting fish oil (fish waste) into biodiesel.

My average day is spent answering and sending e-mails, reading articles on current energy projects, phone conferences with people all over the state, and looking through the grants, projects and past activities so that I have a firmer idea of where to pick up. (If you want, you can find my exact job description and picture on the SWAMC website:

http://www.swamc.org/index.phpoption=com_content&task=category§ionid=6&id=29&Itemid=30)

The fun part about my job is that I am the only one in the office who's sole responsibility is to work on this project. Mike and Andy oversee our projects and work to inform us of issues we may not be aware of, and then there is Hendrick who is working on solid waste issues, Jen, who is dealing with tourismm and Michelle who is the office administrator.

As events unfold and I experience more of "The Last Frontier," I will send out more blogs. For now, everyone keep warm!

Feel free to comment or send me an e-mail!

Rebekah



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Heading up the trailHeading up the trail
Heading up the trail

"Do you have avelanche experince?"
TowersTowers
Towers

Mountains overlooking city
Ice and MudIce and Mud
Ice and Mud

Piled on the sides of the streets


12th December 2007

I guess that the odds of a white Christmas are as good in Alaska as anywhere. Someone told me a few years back that people should never go to Alaska until middle age, as the scenery is so stunning as to spoil a tourist for anywhere else. Judging from your pictures, my friend might have had a point.
13th December 2007

well is it cold yet??
Im so glad that you are sharing As events unfold and you experience more of "The Last Frontier," keep warm! I love you and am proud of you, D@d
18th January 2008

what about the 24 hours of darkness? Does that not apply to Alaska because I hear its twilight all through winter in the north. I have never been there to know of it thought.
20th January 2008

so proud
what a beautiful and enlightening experience you are having (and sharing ). i imagine by now you have gotten a goodly amount of snow. keep warm and healthy. LOL gram
28th January 2008

Darkness...
Actually there is complete darkness in the most Northern part of Alaska in the winter, but here in Anchorage I think the longest span of darkness is on winter solstice, which is about 20 1/2 hours.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb