A Day in the Life


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have to apologize for that last post. I'll admit it, it got weird there at the end. I do think I get at least a partial pass because I have neither written in awhile, nor do I usually go through any form of surgery. I guess I should say upfront, that this isn't so much a travel blog, yet, but hopefully it will fully develop into that before the year is up. I know that travel is travel, but I was thinking more of cross global adventures instead of just going down the street to Birmingham. But, hey, you've got to get there a bit at a time right?
Roomy was angry this morning. The general unfairness of life is getting to her. I don't know. If this keeps up, then neither of us will get to the Peace Corps. I sounds odd, I'll admit, but I can't do it without her, and she needs my help too. I don't know what to do though. For this to work, I need to get a better job. Then at least some of the problems will get better. Part of the problem today, I know, is the fact that I just kinda sat there as she talked. Though I am not know for my great conversational wit, I can usually at least make a showing and let people know that I'm more than a brightly fringed stump. I'm rather bad in the mornings though. I just can't seem to get the whole voicebox to function right. I think the real frustrating part in all of this is that we both left, if not exceptional positions, then comfortable ones, to come to this town with its promises of booming industry, only to find that we are either both overly, and in her case very overly, qualified or not skilled enough. I know there are alot of people who think that an English degree is worthless, but I can still do office work or learn about computers. I can do entry level positions and be a happy little automaton.
I think she really wants to jump ship though, and there's nothing I can really do about it unless someone wants to give me a chance. I know I should be more proactive, escpecially if I want to be in the Peace Corps, where they drop you in a foreign land and expect you to be a self-starter. I just don't know what else I need to do. The next step I can think of involves hunting down corporate heads, or HR, and badgering myself into a job, and hopefully not jail. I'm going to print off a copy of my resume and give it to Rod later. He's not in any position to get me a job, but he's ex-army, I believe, and can help me translate my resume into Military, as opposed to Civilian. Ugh, ok. I'm going to take another nap before work and hope that I recharge enough to get through the day. Roughly 20 more days until I'm nominated!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb