One down


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Gulf Shores
January 26th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We left Pensacola about 8:10 (Bob was slow) and rode out of town. We were out of the traffic real fast and the riding was nice. Yesterday I stopped by Cinnabon and bought some cinnamon sticks and save them for today. When we stopped for second breakfast I got them out and we had a feast. When we rode along the beach we stopped twice and walked to the beach and took pictures and we got some postcards for the folks back home. We were not in a real big hurry and the day was fun. Around 12:30 we made it to the state line. We started out by crossing the road and taking some pictures on the Florida sign. We then rode 200 yards and did the same with the Alabama sign. I'm sure those who passed us along the road must have thought what a bunch of goofballs. When we stopped for lunch we found this nice local place and enjoyed a great lunch. Afterwards we walked through an open air type market / mall. I was looking for something for my wife and got visiting with the shop owner about our trip. She was talking about some products that some bikers like and she then gave them to me. I thanked her for this. Later while on our ride we stopped by a state rest stop to go to the rest room. When I was getting back to the road I saw this sign post by the swimming area. The top sign said "No fishing in the swimming area" the Bottom sign said " No life guard is on duty. Swim at your own risk" The middle sign said " Do not aggravate of feed the alligators" This makes me want to get my trunks out and go swimming, how about you? When we arrived in Gulf Springs Bob and Mary went to a motel for the night. Sam and I went camping. The temp got down to 30' and it was cold for sleeping. The campground had a camp pig that had free run of the grounds. I discovered the pig late that night while it was sleeping. It is a pot belly pig that is well fed. I went to the camp fire after supper and visited with the snowbirds I had a chance to play my dulcimer. One of the campers there plays a dulcimer as well. We jammed for a spell. This was our second night of camping on our trip so far. I enjoy camping but it was cold for me, my bag isn't equipped for these temps. We rode 35.5 miles today. I enjoyed our lazy day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb