Amigo, Amigas.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Valladolid
August 5th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Baaabaaabaaa, ohhh no it can't be.



That is the sound of the alarm going off at 2.15am in our apartment in New York after three hours sleep!



This morning we are going on one hullava journey to Mexico. But first we must wake Ms Roling who has popped a sleeping pill!



So today will consist of a taxi, flight, another flight, a transfer and then a 2.5 hour bus trip.



We fumble our way through security and on to the plane, Ms Roling still has no idea what is happening.



We land in Miami and my feet resemble ice blocks, I'm confidant that all the aircon for the flight was filtered through my feet.



We have 40 minutes to kill before our next flight so we try and find somewhere to grab some breakfast. Ms Roling has been the hardest to satisfy food wise, so is sent off to peruse our options whilst I sit guarding our carry on luggage. 32 minutes later she arrives with an orange juice and a pastry.



I decide to grab a water and some Oat Clusters...they were not what I was expecting, I have 5 and give up its like eating fried chips with oats in them...just random.



We board our plane to Cancun - Mexico.



I would be lying if I was so to say I was excited about this leg of our journey, however Ms Roling is brimming with excitement - Mexico was on her hit list.



Mexico is well known for its troubles, namely drugs. It is renowned for producing Heroin and Cannabis, and is the gateway for cocaine into America. Apart from summery lagers, tequila, and VW Beetles, these infamous narcotics and herbal pacifiers provide Mexico with a presence on the international trading stage...just a pity it doesn't contribute towards its GDP. These aforementioned substances provide drug cartels with huge power and they corrupt the government, maim and kill people and territories are often disrupted along the boarders.



BUT it's not all about a notorious underworld; Mexico also has beautiful beaches, some of the best diving in the world, and one of the new Seven Wonders of the World - the Chichen Itza.



We land in Cancun; we are only 3 hours from our destination and have now been traveling for 10 hours.



We make our way out of the airport and meet our transfer, who will take us to the bus station where he will get our bus tickets...well that is what I think Carlos just said.



Carlos and I attempt to discuss the world’s issues and end up compromising with where New Zealand is and how the weather is there.



We now have our tickets and an hour to kill until our bus arrives. Slumped in the bus shelter it now dawns on me that one of us should have learnt some Spanish as all the announcements are in Spanish. So it becomes a game of your turn to play charades with the conductor – for the record I lost every game with the conductor and Roling won one and by this I mean being able to come back to the seat with a confident yes or no as to whether that announcement was for our bus.



As I’m not an overly religious person it dawns on me that praying that we get on the right bus would be futile and to make this situation even more interesting I’m tired hungry and hot!



As luck would have it the game of charades has paid off and we are now on the bus! It has good aircon and the seats are big and comfy and recline, I’m pleasantly surprised!



We are both exhausted and after 12 hours of travel we still have a 3 hour bus ride to endure.



I don my earphones, recline the seat and doze, periodically waking to see the scenery.

We arrive Valladolid, a quaint, colonial looking town and not touristy at all. I immediately conjure up thoughts of jumping beans, siestas and speedy Gonzales.



“Right Ms Roling I need a beer and a bathroom stop where is our hotel?” And in true unfazed Roling style she isn’t totally sure, “I remember it being close to the bus stop”. WOWING you are killing me!



A quick Google Map tells us we are all but two blocks away. I manhandle the suitcases along the street, fearing we will loose a wheel as they launch up and down curbs.



We arrive…well at least we though we had, there’s a sleepy looking fellow sitting in what I assumed was the hotel foyer, “Is this Meson del Marques?” I enquire in my best Spanish accent (a cross between Puss and Boots and Air NZ’s old mascot, Rrrico). “No” he communicates with sweeping arm movements. I return these movements – why, I have no idea, hoping we may bond maybe and magically understand each other.



So after we had completed every tai chi movement known to man, I walk next door – literally out the door and up into the next foyer, where I can still see my Mexican tai chi mate through an adjourning doorway. He is now shaking his head and making even bigger sweeping movements.



My immediate thought is screw the Corona I need whiskey.



Luckily my somewhat disheveled look plays to my advantage and a waitress at the hotel’s restaurant assists us, and orders a bellboy to collect our bags.



We walk through the restaurant which is very cute – picture an open air grassy square with a fountain in the middle, and lots of Spanish archways and dark wood. We continue past the little outside bar and pool. I have a date with these two in 15 minutes!



We check in and are shown to our room, the bellboy takes great pride in showing us around our room. There is a faulting moment or more accurately 15 minutes in which the beeping sound from the remote control for the aircon and the climbing up and down on the chair to reach said air con has me worried. But my fears are put to rest when he proudly shows me, it’s working!

I strip off into my togs and head to down for a dip in the pool but not before I knock off two Coronas, Ms Roling clears a cocktail and floats merrily in the pool.



After 15.5 hours of travel and some tai chi we are knackered, the rest of our day involves the pool, beers, and cocktails.



We do break for an early dinner, which to my dismay is loaded with onion, upon realizing this I advise Ms Roling that I hopes she sleeps well tonight. A perplexed look appears on her face, I simply point at the onion and we now have a worried look. Don’t worry we have two beds and aircon I remind her!



With a delicious and very traditional Mayan dinner consumed, we head off to the scratcher for an early night.



Tomorrow we visit Chichen Itza – one of the new Seven Wonders of the World - the Chichen Itza!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb