A Birthday and Fleeting Time


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Veracruz » Xalapa
October 17th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

At the moment I'm sitting in the school library, looking out across the rooftops of orange spanish tile with a beautiful backdrop of blue skies and white clouds. This particular day has been very relaxing, just doing a little bit of studying for exams which are next week and listening to music on the computer at school.

My birthday came and gone with little excitement but was pleasant none-the-less. The 13th fell on a Monday, so my family decided to have a dinner together to celebrate the day before, on Sunday when very little is going on. We had a nice dinner of empanadas, my favorite food here thus far, and a chocolate cake. It was very nice and relaxed. On Monday I had in the morning but enjoyed the nice weather outside at a division three soccer game in the afternoon. I had another class in the evening and afterwards a group of us went out for a little while. It was very nice but I missed you all. One of these years I'll have to stick around the east coast for my birthday, ha.

Everything else is going just fine, plugging away with studying and trying to talk as much as I can with people. I ended up chatting with a guy who sold me a soccer ball a few days ago and he invited me to play with his intramural soccer team whenever our schedules allow. They play four days a week so it should work out. Hopefully I will start playing some soccer soon, which I have missed very much!

I have been asked by some people about the weather where I am. Xalapa is located way up in the mountains and has not been affected by the multiple tropical storms that have ravaged other southern and western parts of the country. It's a very sad circumstance for thousands of people who live at lower elevations and have taken on incredible amounts of water from the rain storms. Our thoughts and best wishes to those affected.

Love to all at home and abroad,
Barry





Advertisement



19th October 2008

Your Birthday
We all wish we had been with you on your birthday, or visa versa. Next year watch out! We certainly enjoyed talking to you on my birthday. You know we were celebrating Andrea's too. Your Mom was and is so gracious to be the hostess for all these celebrations! Have we told you that we had a regatta a couple of weeks ago on Stonebridge pond? 3 remote controlled sailboats sailing around the fountain! Fun!! Lots of love from us.
20th October 2008

Hola y feliz navidad! (or is that merry christmas!?) I got a bit behind. Things sound pretty good. Are you speaking in sentences these days? How's the understanding? The trips you've been on sound so interesting and delicious. I hope one day to travel through Mexico. Glad your bday was enjoyable, I was afraid you'd be terribly lonely. Did you get our card? I think Zack sent you something as well. Hope exams went well. Did Zack tell you he's playing baseball and basketball? Sounds like he's having fun. Will write you an email soon. Take care and keep writing these fabulous entries. I miss you!!! xxxx love Andrea and Marcial
22nd October 2008

Happy belated, belated, belated birthday! I hope it was a great day. It sounds like things are still going well in Mexico? I'm loving your blog and the photos. I'm also glad to hear you haven't been too affected by the recent tropical storms. I check an online weather map and lately it's seemed like one storm after another has been headed in your direction! I hope all is still going well :)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb