Welome to La Jungla


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Veracruz » Catemaco
March 27th 2011
Published: April 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I stayed two days in a campground called "La Jugla" on the shore of lake Catemaco. They tell me that "Medicine Man" and "Apocalyto" were filmed here and I don't doubt that because it is such a fantastic jungle setting. I didn't have to drive far to get here but it was pretty brutal. I almost bailed on trying to find the campground because I had a hard time finding the entrance and it got a lot worse after that. The so called "road" into this place was little more than a path through the jungle that inexplicably split a couple of times. I had GPS coordinates to aim at but my GPS promptly lost its way under the thick canopy. The birds, monkeys, and something that sounded like R2-D2 started mocking me when I stopped and got out of the car to see if I could get the GPS to work so I got to enjoy that bit of creepiness in the middle of a dim jungle until the GPS started working again. I ended up having to drive another 1/2 mile at about 2 miles per hour down the path before I got to the end of it.

Was it worth it? Yes! I have seen plenty of jungle in my days but this place is special. They have what I would call a cement pond where you could swim and also a water slide that kids could play on. The ambiance of the on-site restaurant was amazing and the food was pretty decent in spite of the fact that the "changa" tasted a lot like pork. I hope that's what it was because I really don't like what my dictionary tells me. I should have looked that one up before I ate it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb