Isla Mujeres is small, but the World is smaller!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Time on the Isla went so fast, and probably because I thought I would awaken from a dream!

My first full day there was spent to a large degree, (no big surprise) on the beach. Met a couple of airline stewards (Mike and Anita) from Toronto, while I was inspecting my first hammock at a Palapa. I then strolled the beach and picked a perfect spot to start working on my "real" tan! There are many vendors who troll the beach selling their wares, and this is how I met Mike (yes, another one - I seem to be surrounded by them!) Mike is looking at jewellery and from the tone of his skin seems to have just gotten there. We strike up a conversation, and I find out he is from Calgary! His plans are to head south to Utila (Honduras) to take scuba classes, and is travelling with John. I later meet John and we all go out for dinner. My first mexican meal, and it was an awesome shrimp dish. Quite the pair they are! Very different, but both great guys (no guys, I am not just saying that in case you are reading this!..lol)

They have plans to rent scooters the next day, and we decide to meet on the beach the next morning. My hotel room is apparently close to a rooster, who awakens me at 4:30 am. I eventually get up as I can't fall back asleep and head down to 7-11 for a "Cafe Select" coffee. On the way back I meet this american from Minnesota (Don) at the internet cafe. Don spends 6 months on the Isla while not in the US. Such a sweet man, and he so kindly asks if I want a tour of the Isla on his "moto". I accept and we motor around the whole island, stopping for pics whenever I want. He insists on taking me to his little hangout for Tostados. By the time he drops me back to my hotel, 3 hours have flown by (without sunscreen)! With this short hair cut of mine (which I am just loving), my neck hasn't seen the sun in years, and I am paying for it!

I head down to the beach to meet John and Mike. On the way there, I see this man sitting next to a store. I swear my monovision is playing tricks on me, as he sure looks like my roommate and previous co-worker (Kim) that I haven't seen for 13 years ago. Sure enough, it is! Unbelievable! The world is truly a tiny place! We catch up for a while, and find out he is staying in the hotel directly across from mine! How bizarre! From the picture of Kim and I, it doesn't look like I am too happy, but really I was just sunburned...and wanted out of the sun! It sure was great to see Kim, and laugh about old times.

I end up meeting up with Mike and John later, who have further discussed the previous night's conversation about travelling with me to Corozal. They have decided to head down to Belize with me the next morning. Life is very amazing and synchronistic!!!

Total hammocks inspected to date: 2 + 1 kids' (the latter didn't go so well!)

Advertisement



7th December 2008

Wow Thats to Funny This big old world is pretty small a
8th December 2008

Interconnectedness
It is a small world after all. As the interconnectedness of all things continues it's journey... a never ending story of our planet. Belize in your dream!

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb