Our last days in Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
October 1st 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Isla de Mujeres, Playa Cocoteros, 27 abril 1990.
It's late afternoon and we sitting under one of the palapa-thatched huts taking shelter from the intence rays of the caribean late afternoon sun, drinking a cold Modelo beer and discussing our trip so far while Nora is out in the azure blue sea with my snorkle enjoying the rich aquatic sea life.
The beach is pretty much deserted so we have the place to ourselves and we can even skin up a joint with the grass James scored a few days back in Cancun. The coconut trees this beach has been named after are nowhere to be seen but rumour has it they have all been swept away by some tropical typhon a couple of years ago.
"You know, it's really great, nearly three and a half months of travelling together and we're still friends, Hans", "I mean, that must count for something, man". Taking a drag from the joint and pondering his question I have no choise but to agree with James.
We've come a long way since setting out on this trip in early jan. , in just a few days more we'll be back in Amsterdam. I'll start selling my Mandala games again while James will go back to the Ibis Hotel near the airport cleaning rooms again both of us planning to save money for another trip.
I ponder his words while watching Nora who is waving her hand at us chest deep in the turquoise blue sea, my snorkle looking a bit grotesque on her beautiful brown skinned face. Better hide the joint or she'll be right over. We've been quite active today walking all the way to the south of the island to see the mayan ruins of the temple dedicated to Ixchel, the goddess of fertility, the moon and all sorts of other things important to women.
The ruins were quite a sorry affair though being in a crumbling state but the views across a tranquil blue/green sea all the way to Cancun were certainly worth the effort of going out there.
"Anything left of that joint, Hans"? I'm taken out of my mental reverie by Nora's feminine voice, slender brown fingers taking the remains of the fat joint out of my hand, a blue bikini clad female behind placing itself on my knee, a soft french accented moist voice whispering in my ear "Love this place as much as I love you, mon amour d'Amsterdam".
"I'll get us some more beers, guys", I can hear James say distancing himself and giving us a few moments of cherished privacy.
In mere days all of this will be over and me and James, my travel partner, will be back in Amsterdam while Nora will.........well, to say the truth I've no idea what she'll do...she never talked about it...being mysterious when I asked her last night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1953s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb