Island of Women


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

LAND AHOYLAND AHOYLAND AHOY

destination located, we are on the island of women
If ever in a desire to escape to a white sandy beach with half the crowds and less of a tourist feeling I highly recommend staying on the island of women; Isla Mujeres. Rather than flying into Cancun and going straight to the hotel zone which seems to be a mini Las Vegas, catch a ride to the ferry terminal and get out on the blue crystal clear Caribbean. The ferry is 70 pesos or seven U.S. dollars for a round trip ticket to paradise. It leaves every 20-30 minutes through out the day and then ever hour after 8 pm. until late night. Once there you are set for the rest of your vacation. There are plenty of places to stay and if you want a place with some funk along with an easy way to meet foreigners or other travelers of the world the Poc Na Hostel is what your looking for. There is a choice of dormitory rooms (around 10 U.S. dollars) or private rooms with shared bathrooms or your own (25-35 U.S. dollars). When you check in your given a free drink for the evening and a free continental breakfast in the morning. There is also an
JUST HANGING OUTJUST HANGING OUTJUST HANGING OUT

this tree had only a few roots covered by sand
affordable restaurant on site not to mention hammocks and tables surrounded by illuminating hanging décor in the common area. Cruising bikes and snorkels are available for rental if you have the desire to tour around the island and visit such things as a turtle farm or zip-lines over the ocean. On the other hand if you are just there to relax rent a golf cart and zip around the island with a bit of freedom. Later you can always walk a few blocks up from the hostel to the north end of the island and Poof your on a beautiful white sandy beaches that goes for hundreds of feet out before getting very deep. Through out the island there are plenty of options and things to do, diving trips, snorkeling, shopping, and dining. All in all this is the place to go if ya want a little taste of the island time. P.S. Don’t leave the island with out having some ceviche!

So do I sound like I could write a travel article???? I ‘m going to start writing little notes like this about the places we go so I can get better at it and have more details
JUST CALL ME TURTJUST CALL ME TURTJUST CALL ME TURT

one of the turtles at the turtle farm
then maybe I’ll submit something to the Lonely Planet Travel books!!! I was looking on-line today and they are looking for writers in Central America and Peru…….. I’m thinking why not were are already going to be in these places maybe I can submit photos too!!!!! From a young age I have secretly wanted to have something published in National Geographic. The sky is the limit ya know.

In case you couldn’t tell we went to Isla Mujeres for a few days. It was a nice get away from our hiding spot at my uncles were we do nothing but relax. Truthfully after two days on the island we were ready to get back to my uncles and enjoy what little time we have left before leaving and going back out into the big world of never knowing where your going to end up for the night. So we are at my uncles until the next full moon 9this Friday). This is when we have chosen to go to Tulum and hang out a few nights in palapas and stare at the moon on the beach and then we will keep heading south into Belize for a bit and
FREEDOM WHEELSFREEDOM WHEELSFREEDOM WHEELS

sometimes you just have to play with the big boys and their toys
then into Guatemala in time for Nov. 1st which will be The Day of the Dead. We can and will explain more of that celebration after we have experienced it. Meanwhile until we leave my uncles I am busy trying to write a love song for Tim because I have lost one of our bets. Nat and Tim….for those of you that don’t know we also have a website that was updated recently www.natimilie.com



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ZIPLINE ANYONEZIPLINE ANYONE
ZIPLINE ANYONE

No we did nçt pay for this experience but WOW what a view
ELADO DE COCO, QUE RICOELADO DE COCO, QUE RICO
ELADO DE COCO, QUE RICO

yummy coconut ice cream....This beats my popsicle cart anyday
WHATZ UPWHATZ UP
WHATZ UP

just chillen like a villen
HOW MANY IGUANAS DO YOU SEEHOW MANY IGUANAS DO YOU SEE
HOW MANY IGUANAS DO YOU SEE

hint, there are more than two
QUE ROMANTICAQUE ROMANTICA
QUE ROMANTICA

a lovely sunset on a lovely beach
EL BARCO DE PESCADOEL BARCO DE PESCADO
EL BARCO DE PESCADO

SEAFOOD ANYONE....I miss my boat
PONCHO VILLAPONCHO VILLA
PONCHO VILLA

yup, thats my husband, guess he has adjusted to the mexican lifestyle


24th October 2007

What up Brother! and sister
Hows they trip going? I can tell you guys are enjoying yourselfs. No doubt you have been dabbling in the tequila. the aguava is a wonderful plant. I am writing for the communicator now, the falls paper. I wish i was with you guys. ttly
27th October 2007

keep on writin'!
We're loving you travel blog and the accompanying pictures are fun and quality stuff. Yes, do think about writing travel things for the people who'll pay you. You're good at it! Have you been playing any disc golf or tossing a frisbee? Enjoy!
30th October 2007

Disc Golf?
Hey, nice to hear from ya' I'd forgotten you are on our list thanks for posting. I'm sorry to say I didn' t bring discs this trip and haven't been looking for courses. I brought climbing gear instead. However, I figure where there's courses theres discs and maybe that time will come. More likely in South America than in Central America but I haven't looked into it. Throw an ace for me, Cheers!
4th November 2007

StrumminMePainWithHisFingers...
...hey great, Tim, that you have guitar in tow...perhaps ya show me a few tunes when you get back to the land of Hi-chinook winds, as it is today! StayStrummin my man...

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb