The Travisty of the Island of Women


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Isla Mujeres, Mexico. The penultimate stop on my journey around Mexico, this little gem of an island didn't let me down. We arrived amid a tropical downpour (hence refering to Travis), the streets were deeply awash but our moods were light, the hostel we had been recommended was supposed to be a really sociable one...and it was! We dumped backpacks and headed straight for the bar, the frozen cocktails were all two for one so carnage ensued!! We chatted to loads of people and had a merry time, I even saw the two Dulwich girls I'd met on my first stop in Oaxaca, then the Danish girl that was at the previous stop and this one, again one of many many random meetings with random people. The past couple of nights have been a bit tamer but we had a few chances to hang out at a beach bar there which was fun.

We have spent each day lazing on the beach, it is not as nice as Tulum, the beaches are really narrow, we found out that a recent hurricane had wiped out most of the sand so now we had more sea! Lucky us! You can walk out for about 0.5k and still only be waist deep.

Murdock and Andrea, see the pic?! I did as you dared me, I grew my beard and then shaved it into a lovely hombre moustache, the hat just HAD to be bought to go with the ensemble!! I got a few odd stares but that's pretty normal for me. 😉

Tomorrow we get up to catch a 5:30am ferry to Cancun airport, we're all flying back to Mexico City then back home.

What I learned today. A fool is a man whom kicks stones with flipflops on.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th June 2007

Hola Amigo
Senhor Gonzales, that is a mui bueno moustache! Hope you don't shave it off before getting back to Vie!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb