Holbox and Whalesharks.. wapwap


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Holbox
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We can.t talk long since there is an eletrical storm(mom thinks) starting so this will be shortish and cause I am to lazy to save and add more later.. Well mabye.

We swam with the whale shark today and that was the funnest, both of us agree that holbox is our favorite place by far. Even the place we are staying is not so hot at night cause it really doesnt have walls, unless you count bug netting as walls. And I really like the layout of the place, but on to a quick whale shark report.

We went out just thinking to see the whale sharks but we got a bigger suprise as the trip went on. We first saw a antisocial dolphine...yes they DO have emos in the under water life, harhar. Next was something every one had a laugh about. As we went along one of the girls spotted something out in the water so we went to see, turns out to be sea turtles, large ones. Also turns out they were mating, Also as we found out taking pictures that not only were they mating but there was three of them, a turtle oragy oh my! After a while ( with everyone taking pictures and making comments on their behalf) the turtles had enough of entertaining us and swam off. I was to buzy watching the turtles swim right by the boat to take a picture. Bad me I know but oh wells.

Then came the whale sharks, they for the most part were not as big as I thought they were going to be ( blame discover channel) untill one desided that it didn´t want to be swum with and swam right under the boat there we saw that this one was about 3 to 4 times the size of a person. But anyways this diving group that we went with was very good. Only two people were allowed into the water at a time and if the whale shark got annoyed and started to swim away we would move to the next one so not to bother them. We even saw a mother and her calf swimming along.

As you have read before I have meet a lot of french people here in mexico and I will say it again, I do love them. On this trip we both got to
Mood the daringMood the daringMood the daring

here is Mood and the caption both standing as we go full force
know two girls from france. Mood(cute name) and Saura, both were funny and out going. I thought that Mood was the adventurer out of the two of them since she was doing crazy things like stand on the prow of the boat as we were going top speeds, turns out she is on land not water. She went in with both me and mom to swim with the sharks and as soon as she jumped in she had a problem with the water going over her head and had to go back to wait for another time to go in. I have to say that I can understand getting in the water is very scary when you have time to think how deep it is and what else might be in the water besides this gental fish.

Guess what, there was! We were just going along when someone spotted this HUGE Manta ray. We all got picture of it but since it was close to me and I had the water camera the only good picture of it is on there and we are developing it when we get back.

By the way, swimming with the whale sharks was fun!!! Its a very good experience and I enjoyed it, more so when you are swimming right along side this thing that could eat you if it truely wanted. They are graceful in the water and it was cool to see the different kinds of fish that swim with them. I enjoyed it so much that I ended up breaking down and buying a whale shark necklace that you can find everywhere on the island, buuuttt i did do some shopping to find a crafter that made ones that look the best out of everyone elses. But thats totally off from my story I guess, my bad.

Next after everyone got to see the whale sharks we went to a reef to snorkal and see the fish and coral there, I found a few coral fish and would have liked to stay there for a longer time frame but the flippers i got were crappy to swim with and my mask was leaking salt water into my face so I couyldn´t keep up with the really colorful and neat fish we saw. Some picture were taken on the water camera.

So that was done and we went
ManaRayManaRayManaRay

one picture on the digicam of him
home to swing in the hammocks then we both got the bright Idea to rent a golf cart. ( the only car things on the island besides a few trucks carrying food and water) Now that was fun. Friends back home know that I dont have a drivers liscense yet and they also know that in anykind of bumper cars or the like I fail greaty at. Well mom had the pleasure of teaching me how to drive the golf cart and i think I was doing a good job after 20 mins on the beach of mom teaching me how to turn and how to work the gas right enough so we don´t die and flip over or something, then it was onto the bumpy back roads of the island. And I do say Im happy that we only went over a few butt rattling pot holes at full speed. Dogs by the way live everywhere here on Holbox, but all of them are very sweet and nice, even more so if you give them food which might be why they are nice to begin with.

So going along we happened to come across these interesting holes in the ground at the side of the road, and mom thought she could see something darting into them everytime we pass so she got me to slow down enough so we could watch them and it turns out to be little crabs! Smart little things that dart into the hole then slowly come out with there large claw first to see if things are safe. Very cute I loved it!!!!!

Anyways that was more then I was planning on writting and it pitch black out and pouring so after loading picture we must go.
Laters
Chelsea and mommy


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Mom on boatMom on boat
Mom on boat

we are not moving when this was taken
Not antisocial dolphins!Not antisocial dolphins!
Not antisocial dolphins!

these ones swam with the boat a little, unlike our first dolphin buddy
Chelsea points...Chelsea points...
Chelsea points...

Points at how much whale sharks apparently like Corona... harhar
Chelsea drivesChelsea drives
Chelsea drives

OMG SHE DRIVES!
Angery CrabAngery Crab
Angery Crab

He is saying a mental Heyyy...heeyyy like off Nemo!........ Yup


15th July 2008

whale sharks!? ZOMG!
everything looks so stunning! the little crab is very cute! we all miss you guys down here, while you guys have been enjoying the sun it's been nothing but storms and muddy rain, yesterday it finally stopped for half the day and i took Mindy for a walk. Mindy definetily misses you! she doesn't try to go into Chelsea's room and she doesn't go into the basement as much, also for the past week she has been sleeping in my room. Mom you can have her back she's quite annoying and keeps me up most of the night!last night she found one of her balls and proceeded to lick my face and run around my room until i woke up, after i woke up aaround 2:00 am she dropped her ball and meowed like crazy! i had to baricade my door and take away the ball to get a few a hours of sleep!( although we played ball for a very long time in the afternoon when i finally got up) all is well in the house and we can't wait to see you on wednesday/thursday-ish. until then luff ya Hailey.ps. teighe say's he's good and ya. you know the same as usaul:)

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb