preparing for mexico 2/14-2/26


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
February 12th 2010
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"You know it's dangerous there right now." This is what I've been hearing from most of the people I work with when I told them I'm going to Mexico. I've been retorting, "Most of the trouble is in Mexico City. I'm more afraid of walking in Chicago after dark than I'd ever be of Mexico."

I think it's just jealousy. I'm always genuinely happy whenever anyone tells me of their travel plans. Maybe I should've lied and said, " I'm going into surgery." I definitely would've received more favorable responses. Misery certainly loves company. lol

Then I'm asked, "How many people are going with you?" "None." "Oh...well I guess it's better that way."

Ugh.

I'm sure other single travellers, especially woman have heard this almost apologizing acceptance of travelling by yourself.

Oh, how can I speak of the pleasures of travelling on your own??? I'll save this for a separate entry.

I'm sitting @ my desk wasting away the last hour of my work day before I return to the grindstone on 3/1/10. We just received about a foot of snow in Chicago, so you know I cannot WAIT to be in warm Mexico and away from these dream crushing co-workers. You know who I'm talking about.

Okay okay...am I forgetting anything?

Change of underwear...CHECK...glitter eye makeup...CHECK...glitter neckties...CHECK....money...tickets...passport...CHECK...disposable cameras...CHECK..ugh...ugh...oh yeah....clothes. hehe

My plane will land in Cancun around 4pm after which I'll be taking the $4 shuttle to Cuidad Cancun and then taking a $4 cab to Hostel Marpez. Miguel from the hostel has been really nice in answering all of my inane questions about his place. Experience told me to make sure I wouldn't be stayign in a stuffy cell block with roaches. I booked a single room for $19 a night and plan to use the hostel as my base for travelling around the Yucatan and Quintana Roo.

On my agenda is definitely...
1. Isla Mujeres....mmmmm....seafood...beach...
2. Playa del Carmen...more seafood....more beach
3. Tumul
4. Chichen Itza
5. Izamal- I'm really hyped about this colonial city. Horse-drawn carriages, demonstrations of locally made crafts, and my handy Lonely Planet guide tells me to ask some guy in town about jungle treks. Oh la la.
6. Cancun...I've left this one for last. My image of Cancun has always been either obese American and Canadian tourists sucking down margaritas and grilled shrimp. The other image that haunts me is that of American students puking on the streets and treating the locals as if they were garbage. I don't know. I'll be sure to tell you what I think. 😊

My goal is to spend under $550 for 12 days. This shouldn't be hard. Any thoughts?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb