Mexico: Cancun


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
April 10th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cancun, Mexico

No pictures taken here.

This place is more than a spring breakers’ paradise, I have discovered with delight. Cancun is a haven for college students that wish to drink and party like there is no tomorrow. The strip or ‘zona hotelera’ as they call it is a very much commercialized place. When I stopped by I thought for a minute, am I really in Mexico. The business, the people, and the culture are all American. You will find there a Wal-Mart, Hard Rock Café, Hooters, and the list goes on. It was kind of like being in Las Vegas or in Panama City in Florida. I needed to get away from here after seeing it for one night. The only positive thing from Cancun is that I met an Ozzie named Michael who was traveling to Cuba for a coupe of weeks and was making Cancun his stopping point. We hung out for the night I was there and we experienced ‘zona hotelera’ together. I look forward to hearing from him soon to know more about his visit to Cuba, a place I really want to visit someday.
I did experience a nice area in Cancun and that was by my hostel. It’s an area with a big super market, restaurants, and a park. I was fortunate enough to buy some socks that I had forgotten to bring with me for dirt-cheap. As I waked around the area I was pleasantly welcomed with Marimba music that made me feel immediately at home because it’s something they play a lot in Guatemala.

Journal entry:

I spent a really nice evening in the city of Cancun. Tomorrow I’d like to go to Merida because I’ve been reading a lot about it and it sounds really nice. I will also be closer to Chichen Itza, which is a plus. I had some good food at this restaurant nearby and then I decided to go to have a few beers by this park area…after having a few beers I saw this performance at a park. I enjoyed the show, but I think I enjoyed more watching the kids (one to four years old) drive a four-wheel battery packed car uncontrollably and how their moms/dads would chase after them so that they wouldn’t run into anyone. Good times.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.2121s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb