Spetember in Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla
September 25th 2016
Published: September 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I've been a busy bee this month, as I've been doing an extra class in the morning for a bit of extra cash. It's good, and I've been getting into a good morning routine that continues into the weekend too.

Hiking Cerro Colorado was the highlight of the last week of August, and I hiked it again last week with a Mexican friend and a few of his friends. We ate lunch and played chess at the top, which means that is definitely the most scenic place I've played chess at in my life so far... Rolling, lush green hills, good chess, and a cool wind were the prevailing thoughts in my mind. It was a clear day, and we set off at 11am. It was a hot hike, but we went faster than I did the first time I went.

My host father told me about a local legend concerning the aforementioned hill; apparently, people who go inside caves that are dotted around don't reappear again. He said that the locals thought that there are demons inside, and therefore avoid any forays into the caves...

I've had my fair share of freebies in Mexico, and often feel bemused by the sheer generosity of the people here. Lately, I ended up at my friend's house after the hike and met his family. They were very curious, and all spoke some English. We ate a delicious dinner with cactus fruit juice, and then I watched the latter 15 minutes of Toy Story 2 in Spanish with his niece (3 years old) before tying my bandana like a pirate and popping it on her head. She loved it.

I took a morning trip to two different markets with the other teachers yesterday (Sept. 24th) which was fun. The smells and the sounds of markets all over the world are great, and Mexican markets are no different! I could walk around for hours and not buy anything in a market like that, just for the hubbub and atmosphere involved. As it was, we bought traditional traditional street food, and a couple of odds and ends.

Plans for the remainder of the month include a day trip to Puebla, and possibly buying a camera. I will be going to Guatemala for a few days in early November, and I think it'll be exciting to hear Spanish being spoken in a different accent, to try the local food, and to be a tourist for a few days. Museums, bars, and pyramids will be the main attractions for me, I think.

I'll now attempt something I've been nervous about doing up 'til now... I'm going to try and write an equivalent blog in Spanish with the same stuff covered.

He hecho mucho trabajo esta mes. Haciendo un extra clase por mas dinero, y comencé esta clase hacer cuatro semanas. Mi vida en la mañana es buena, porque despertando a las siete en la mañana es fácil ahorita.

El momento mas bueno en Augusto fue caminando Cerro Colorado, porque las vistas son espectacular. Otro día, fue a esta cerro una vez mas con mi amigo, Ernesto. Hací mas calor esta vez, entonces esa fue la mas difícil. Comimos comida y jugamos ajedrez arriba el cerro, con una vista muy bonita. No he jugado ajedrez en un lugar espectacular como esta vista. Fue cerros verdes y bonitas, y fue poquito ventoso también.

Mi papa habló una historia azteca de la misma montaña. Si vas en una caverna, no te regreso. ¡La gente en Tehuacan piensen hay son demonios allí, y ellos no quieren a las cavernas!

Muchos veces he tener muchos cosas gratis en México, y después de el caminando fuimos a su casa y conocí su familia. Ellos fueron muy curioso, y pueden hablar poquito inglés también. Comimos un cenar delicioso con jugo de fruta cactus, y veremos el televisión. La película fue 'Toy Story two', y su sobrina de cinco años gustó mucho. Hací una bandana de pirata, y ella llevó. ¡Fue muy adorable!

Iré a dos marcadores ayer (Sept 24th) con otros maestros, y gusté todas la gente y las aromas. Los marcadores son similar en todos el mundo mar mi, porque puedes ver y oír mucha gente, comida, y productos. Puedo caminar en estas lugares por horas y horas sin comprando. ¡Es como terapia! Compremos cosas pequeñas.

Mis planes por esta semana; iré a Puebla por un o dos días, y posiblemente comprando una camera. Iré a Guatemala en la primera semana en Noviembre por tres días. Pensó escuchando a Español en un acento diferente iré divertido para mi. También, quiero conocer la comida local y seré un turista por tres días. Pensó los museos, pirámides, y bares (claro) iré los atracciones principales durante mi vacación.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb