A late thanksgiving update


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Puebla City
December 17th 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Well, I know this update is extremely late. I have a lot of good news and some bad news. Things have been picking up fast at the Anglo and Boulanger as the end of the year roles around, test preparation, and testing as well as submitting final grades. Each school has also been inviting me to some social events for the Christmas season, dinners, gift exchanges etc. All of this together made it difficult to find time to update the blog, but the biggest reason I haven't updated is the fact that I broke my arm two weeks ago. Actually the weekend I had planned an update. The break was (as usual) from skateboarding. It isn't too serious and didn't reallyhurt too bad. However, I am wrapped up in a sling for 4 wks. Making writing this a pain in the you know what. But I will struggle on for all of you. 😊
The first event I went to this Christmas season was at the university branch of Instituto Boulanger. It was a cooking competition between the University and high school students. The food was quite amazing as it is a culinary arts school. That was a very fun time to see my students outside of the classroom. I was one of two professors there stuffing out faces with the delectable cuisine. The weakest student in my English class took first place amongst the high school students, with a sweet curie. I typically like mine spicy, but it was fantastic nonetheless.
I have also been to several dinners at both schools and this weekend attended the gift exchange/pizza party for the anglo. The gifts were limited to $250 pesos ($20 approximately) and the teachers room had a sign up sheet for gift ideas. Mariana, my recipient asked for fish or a DVD of a TV series. Obviously I liked the fish idea better. So taking a page from Carlie Ross's book, I bought a small fish tank for her with all the necessities to start her tank. She was thrilled, definitely better than a set of DVDs.
For my gift I asked for about 6 different things so that I would still be surprised when I opened it. One thing I asked for was a classic Mexican novel, and that is just what I got. Arrancame la Vida , The rough translation woul be Run away with my life . The book was written in 1985 by a poblana (woman from Puebla) named Angeles Mastretta. It is also a movie now which I have not seen, but is filmed in Puebla. I intend to watch it after I finish reading. I was thrilled to get the book, something to help further develop my Spanish vocabulary, which it has. I have used my dictionary a lot, but also need word reference as a lot of the vocabulary is colloquial.
I also have included in the blog a picture of our Thanksgiving celebration here. It was a wonderful evening. Maria an I spent the entire day preparing a meal for friends and family. We had appetizers of crackers topped with cheese (similar to fetta), tomato olive oil and cilantro, later a salad with spinach onion, garlic and bacon, topped with a homemade vinaigrette. We also found an amazing recipe for a baked brie topped with almonds and brown sugar. We also made a spicy penne, and mashed potatoes with gravy. I couldn't find any cranberries unfortunately so we did with out. Since I have never prepared a bird, we had to buy a pre-cooked one.... I know, lame. Mom and dad, I am unprepared for the real world!! Just kidding. Last but not least, we made a great apple crisp following my mom's recipe. The meal was amazing and when Maria's mom saw how much work we had put in to it, she busted out the fine china and set the table with candles for a nice meal. Our 9 guests left extremely satisfied and ready to sleep after eating so much and I don't think anyone got sick, which is always a concern with cooking here. I was abit worried that people would not like the meal, as it used a lot more butter than they are accustomed to eating here, but they all loved it. Whats more, the entire meal was less than $100 (11 people).
It was great being with my friends here, but it did make me miss home a bit, just not the cold. I hope you are all staying warm and not too stressed this holiday season. I love you all! Hopefully I will be able to get a hold of you guys on skype or cell phone this vacation period, which I forgot to mention began today for me. I am also looking forward with great anticipation to the arrival of my little sister on Dec 22nd. We should have a good update for you after a little bit of travel.
Take care!
Remember to write!
Love
Jake

PS sorry for the lack of photos, but it is difficult when my right arm can't reach my head!

Advertisement



17th December 2009

Fish are always good pets and gifts!
17th December 2009

do I always have to have a clever title to a comment?
Wow! That was quite a meal, Jake. Sounds like it wasn't too bad a break and that's good. A great book about ancient (a relative term, right?) Mexican history is The Conquest of New Spain, by Bernal Diaz. Diaz was one of Cortez's men and it's about their expedition into Mexico. Do you have a street address (you MUST!) because that way I can send you something. Heh heh. Love, Aunt Carol
17th December 2009

Hey!!!!!
Jake! You sound so grown up! I'm glad to hear that you are doing well (minus the broken arm-it made me think of that video of you breaking your arm a few years ago skateboarding-be more careful! and get better soon!) I hope you have a sensational holiday break, and can't wait until you come home to visit! Miss you tons! Say hi to your mom!
18th December 2009

Hey Jake
We had dinner with Syd and your dad last week. A funny yet awkward moment occurred when I brought up your broken bone and your Dad had not heard about it yet. Sorry. Your sister than explained it to him. Apparently your 1000 facebook friends got the memo before him. HAHA. Your Dad also took us to a Timberwolves game. We were sitting in the 10th row. I started bad mouthing T Wolves point guard Johnny Flynn. I was saying he wasn't very good and that he's too short. The guy in front of me said that Flynn's a tad under 6'1''. The guy then said he knew this because Flynn is his nephew. Another awkward moment. I felt like an idiot. It was funny. Have fun in Mexico.
19th December 2009

just another broken bone
Jake, Do you remember when you shattered your ankle skateboarding in high school? I asked you to choose three hobbies less hazardous than skateboarding. You choose bowling, and two other "safer" activities. Well, do more of THOSE! haha All these "minor" injuries really start to hurt when you are about 50 years old. Enough lecture, you are an adult now. It sounds like you are living well and learning (to often the hard way). If you like to people in another country you can't go wrong. If you like the food it's terrific. It sounds like you have both. Love Dad PS Take good care of my daughter when she visits!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb