First Day of Classes!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Puebla City
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HOLA!!!! I am looking out my dorm room window right now as the sun is shining brightly and i can hear the very nice women who clean our rooms everyday just outside my door. Nishi and I are rooming together even though we requested Mexican roommates. There just weren't enough new Mexican students this semester, but its okay because we are making friends all over the place, both within our international group and with Mexicans at the University and at nearby Universities. This place IberoAmericana is sooo beautiful!1 I have never seen a University like this, everything is so nice and new and all of the classrooms are open air and there is a big court yard that runs through the whole thing where everyone hangs out talking and on their laptops (the whole campus is wireless!) People say that the students here are "fresas" which means literally strawberries, but translates to snobs. We haven't had this experience. People have been great to us. It is very obvious that the people here are extremely elite in their Prada boots and expensive jeans and lexus convertables, but it doesn't bother us any! I never knew Mexico could be like this! Anywhoo we started classes today and they are awesome!! I had my advanced Spanish Grammar class, then I had Mexican Literature, then Latin American Cinema. I have never had classes like these in my life! There are at most 6 people in my classs and the professors are so cool and excited to teach us! I have already learned so much today! We watched this great movie in Cinema today called "Al Otro Lado" (The Other Side) it is available with subtitles and it is really worth watching!! Everything is so beautiful, I can see Popcateptl from my window which is over 7000 meters high and is an active volcano!! its sooo pretty! Don't worry though, every couple weeks we have evacuation drills here at the University! Crazy! i am exhausted from a long day of paying close attention seeing that all of my classes are taught in Spanish so I think I will take a quick siesta until we are going out with some freinds from our group and some Mexican friends from the dorm!! wahoo, this place never sleeps!! I hope the U.S. is treating everyone well, if not, I strongly recommend that you come to MEXICOOOO!!

p.s. i will upload pics as soon as I get my wireless working (i am on Nishi's comp now)

adios!

Advertisement



16th January 2008

woo
kate! everything sounds so great, i am so glad that you are there! i didn't know that your classes were taught in spanish tho, thats nuts!

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.3kb