Una semana en Zipolite, Oaxaca, y la D.F.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Zipolite
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ya, I decided not to spend my spring break in Cancun or Puerto Vallarta. Instead, I strapped on a backpack, and aimed for a secluded beach somewhere along the coast of Oaxaca State. I had met a Swedish girl in Israel this past summer, who was travelling Mexico with a few friends and decided to visit her and spend a week at the beach roasting in the sun, smoking a little ganja and sippin' on some Sols and Coronas. (Coronas are the best). The week was awesome.
To get to the beach, you need to take a bus from Oaxaca (normally around 6 hours) that will leave you in Pochutla, a small town near the coast. Unaware of different bus stations, while in Oaxaca city I purchased a bus ticket from the second class bus station. Not only was I the only gringo, but everyone else on the bus was a farmer selling their produce (and animals) in the city. Everyone stunk, and the bus was on the verge of falling apart. To make things worse, the guy sitting next to me had a chronic cough, often spitting some type of bodily fluid into the corner of his seat. Disgusting. The ride went on forever. Rather than taking 6 hours, it took 9 and a half. I blame it on the "Reductores" or speed bumps, that were placed every 100 meters of the road. Que horror!!!
Once I got to the beach, I realized how amazing Zipolite was. Not really Mexico at all- it felt more like a European bubble. I hear more French and German than Spanish while staying on the beach. The hostel I stayed at was awesome. I slept in a room, a few meters from the beach, for less than four bucks a night. During the day, I would wake up to the "Hostel Tao breakfast," consisting of fresh fruit, including papaya (baller), and yogurt and granola. Following the breakfast, I would roast in the sun, swim, lay in a hamack, and sip on some booze watching the sunset. The good life eh?
There were some bumps in the road. About halfway through the week, my friends somehow caught this horrible parasite which inflamed their veins and started to blister. I think it was from using the water to gargle while brushing teeth, but we dont know exactly. I came to this hypothesis because I was the only one who used a water bottle to brush my teeth, and I returned unharmed... quien sabe...
Well, enjoy the pictures. The area is amazing. You should make it sometime if you travle to Mexico, but I'm sure you will stop by if you're backpacking...it's on the trail.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb