OAXACA WITH DONZETTA - LA COSTA CHICA - AFRO PUEBLOS


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Chacahua
August 4th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Luci en la molinera con maize por la masa para las tortillasLuci en la molinera con maize por la masa para las tortillasLuci en la molinera con maize por la masa para las tortillas

Every night Luci boils corn for the maize for fresh tortillas. Each morning at 6 am she takes the corn to the molinera to have it ground to tortilla dough (masa). Afterwards she builds a fire in the stove, presses small portions of masa for the tortillas and places them on the comal to cook. In this way they have fresh corn tortillas each day.
Hello All,

I am finally getting settled back into my home after my 6 month stay in Oaxaca, MX and my brief trip afterward to Albuquerque, NM for a friend's family reunion. I think that it is now time to work on and complete my travel blog for this year.

I am going to begin with my most recent visit in June to the coast of Oaxaca to spend a month with my Afro-Mexican family in Charco Redondo. (I listed Chacahua, another Afro-Pueblo, as the location since Charco Redondo and El Azufre are not listed as locations in the travel blog. Chacahua is only a few miles away from where I stayed.) I spent that month with Luci Marichi and her mother. During that time I taught English to the children in the pueblo 6 days a week. I found the children to be very intelligent and very creative. At the end of the English course, E-Costa, the organization for which I volunteered during that month, gave certificates of completion to the students at a celebration to which the parents and officials of the pueblo and E-Costa were invited. It was a fabulous experience for me and I think
Luci atisa el fuegoLuci atisa el fuegoLuci atisa el fuego

Luci is "stoking" the fire for the stove to cook tortillas and the rest of the breakfast.
that the kids, their parents and the pueblo really enjoyed it. This was a first time for them.

My first photos are of daily activities in my family's home. (I think I used the maximum space for photos in this post so. in my next entries, I will follow up with more pictures of daily activities in Charco Redondo, pictures and activities in other pueblos and finally pictures of my English class kids and their graduation ceremony.

Be on the lookout for my follow up posts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Luci revisa la temperatura del comal para las tortillasLuci revisa la temperatura del comal para las tortillas
Luci revisa la temperatura del comal para las tortillas

Luci is checking the temperature of the comal before cooking the tortillas.
Esta haciendo la masaEsta haciendo la masa
Esta haciendo la masa

Luci is working the masa for the correct consistency and maturity (she adds vinegar if the masa is too green.
Una tortilla perfectaUna tortilla perfecta
Una tortilla perfecta

Luci has just finished pressing a tortilla and is getting ready to place it on the comal to cook.
Los ingredientes para los Huevos MexicanosLos ingredientes para los Huevos Mexicanos
Los ingredientes para los Huevos Mexicanos

These are the ingredients for the Mexican style eggs.
El desayuno: te, pan, tortilla, frijoles y huevos mexicanosEl desayuno: te, pan, tortilla, frijoles y huevos mexicanos
El desayuno: te, pan, tortilla, frijoles y huevos mexicanos

This is my breakfast for the morning: mint tea, fresh bread (in orange container), fresh tortilla, beans, Mexican style eggs (eggs scrambled with tomatoes and onions). It hold you until mid-afternoon.
La vendedora del panLa vendedora del pan
La vendedora del pan

This is the lady that comes by each day to sell fresh baked bread. She is standing on Luci's patio.
Flores para quesadiasFlores para quesadias
Flores para quesadias

These were flowers for quesadias for lunch one day. Luci did a lot cooking with the plants in nature near her house.
El pan con mielEl pan con miel
El pan con miel

This is bread with honey. One of the sellers of bread brought them to the house.
Estoy recogiendo el chepil para una sopaEstoy recogiendo el chepil para una sopa
Estoy recogiendo el chepil para una sopa

I am picking chepil for Luci to cook a soup. She seasons with garlic, onion and salt....very good and healthy! The plant grows naturally in her yard.
Las hojas del chepilLas hojas del chepil
Las hojas del chepil

I am picking the leaves from the chepil plant one by one for Luci to cook.
Un vecino y yo compartimos la sopaUn vecino y yo compartimos la sopa
Un vecino y yo compartimos la sopa

One of the neighbors and I share the chepil soap that Luci made.
Estoy lavando mi ropaEstoy lavando mi ropa
Estoy lavando mi ropa

Here I am washing my clothes in the outdoor laundry and shower room.
La vecina esta cortando la leňa para el fuegoLa vecina esta cortando la leňa para el fuego
La vecina esta cortando la leňa para el fuego

The next-door neighbor is gathering wood for the fire in the stove.
Otro vecino esta cortando la leňa para almacenarOtro vecino esta cortando la leňa para almacenar
Otro vecino esta cortando la leňa para almacenar

This neighbor is cutting wood to store for future fires for cooking.
El negocio de Luci - Ella hace la mermelada para vender por el organizacion "E-Costa".El negocio de Luci - Ella hace la mermelada para vender por el organizacion "E-Costa".
El negocio de Luci - Ella hace la mermelada para vender por el organizacion "E-Costa".

This is Luci's business. She makes marmalade for "E-Costa", an organization that promotes organic products.
Mama con el vecino y la bisnieta del vecinoMama con el vecino y la bisnieta del vecino
Mama con el vecino y la bisnieta del vecino

This is the mother in my Afro-Mexican family with her neighbor and her neighbor's great granddaughter. The neighbors here are very close and supportive of each other.
El primo de mama con su machete para el campoEl primo de mama con su machete para el campo
El primo de mama con su machete para el campo

This is Luci's mother cousin with his machete for working in the fields.
Esta usando el machete para cortar el coco.Esta usando el machete para cortar el coco.
Esta usando el machete para cortar el coco.

He is using his machete to cut the coconut to get the coconut water inside.
Visitan en el patio de la familiaVisitan en el patio de la familia
Visitan en el patio de la familia

Mama's cousin and neighbor are sitting around visiting on the patio. I am in the background reading
Una vista muy bellaUna vista muy bella
Una vista muy bella

This is a view at twilight from the family patio. It is so beautiful.


7th August 2014

ODECO...La Ceiba, Honduras
Headed next week with Dr. Rodger Randle from OU to explore ways we can help this organization devoted to striving for the integral development of Afro-descendant communities in Central America thus contributing to the construction of dignity among populations of African descent. I'll let you know how the trip goes!
8th August 2014

Great to hear from you!
Daniel, It is great to hear that this project is going forward. From what I have seen in Oaxaca, the afro-latino community has been sorely neglected since slavery times. I am learning to be grateful to have been a descendent of the 3% Africans who came to the English speaking country rather than the 97% who went to the Hispanic countries. They don't appear to have fared very well. Donzetta
8th August 2014

LOVIN IT!!!
Oh, these are absolutely WONDERFUL Donzetta!!! I just love the way you put descriptions under each of your photos!! I know it takes time, but it really makes a difference. And go 'head with you showing off your Spanish! I'm so glad we met!! I've shared this in my facebook group you know!! :-)
8th August 2014

Hi Lovenia
You might share in Facebook that I have contact information for E-Costa, the organization for which I volunteered, and also for some of the Afro-Mexicans in the area. The people are very open to visitors who may simply want to make their acquaintance and of course to any who may want to do volunteer work or help in other ways. Luci is very proud of her mixed heritage and culture and wants to share them. Donzetta
10th August 2014

La aventura de Donzetta
Que hermoso Donzetta que bueno que se la paso bien en la Costa Chica de Oaxaca saludos
10th August 2014

Muchisimas gracias
Gracias por sus comentarios. Donzetta
10th August 2014
Una vista muy bella

Hermoso
Que tranquilidad se ha de sentir
10th August 2014
Las hojas del chepil

Chepiles
Que tal unos tamalitos de Chepil con una salsa de tomate de cascara delicioso
10th August 2014
El primo de mama con su machete para el campo

Que bonito
El campo es muy bueno para respirar Saludos
10th August 2014
Esta usando el machete para cortar el coco.

coco
Delicioso uuummmmm
10th August 2014
Visitan en el patio de la familia

Muy bueno
Que buena Charla
12th August 2014

Volunteering!
It called my attention to read that you taught English through a Volunteer Organization. What do I need to do it too? I'd love to!
1st October 2014

Greetings
Hello, I stumbled upon this page from a Facebook group I'm a part of "Afromexico." I was surprised when I saw your name because I'm a researcher who recently went to the coast, and I stayed with Luci. She told me about you and I thought I would say hello. These photos are wonderful. I miss the tortillas. Salud!
1st October 2014

Greetings
Hello, I stumbled upon this page from a Facebook group I'm a part of "Afromexico." I was surprised when I saw your name because I'm a researcher who recently went to the coast, and I stayed with Luci. She told me about you and I thought I would say hello. These photos are wonderful. I miss the tortillas. Salud!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb