School is In Session..


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So school has now been in session for about a week. We are settling into a routine and I think I really like it. I'm going to start teaching English to the Preschool 1 and 2 classes tomorrow and I'll be doing that 2 days a week and a week from Friday I'm going to start teaching english to a group of year of service kids (kids who have graduated from the high school and are now working here so that they can go to the university) and I'll be doing that once a week. I'm also going to start helping out with the Edge program here (the middle school version of LifeTeen) when that starts up in a couple weeks. So things are starting to get busy and I'm getting opportunities to leave my little world in Kinder and spend some time with the other kids in the house. On Sundays when I'm working all of the volunteers who are also working organize an activity for the whole house. This past Sunday we did what we called "Dia de Huevo" which is Egg Day. Basically we did races with eggs and an egg drop. This all took place for almost two hours and we had over 200 kids go. It's an optional thing that kids are allowed to come to, but don't have to so the turn out was pretty good. It was a ton of fun. I do have more pictures for everyone but I haven't had time to upload them as the brief internet that we had for a day has left us again. I just wanted to let you know I was alive and what I'm up to now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002kb